2006-2007 ANNUAL REPORT – DUE MAY 1, 2006 STANDING/SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON JURY INSTRUCTIONS – STANDARD CRIMINAL STATE BAR OF MICHIGAN

Committee Name: Standing/Special Committee on Jury Instructions-Standard Criminal.

Jurisdictional Statement: Committee shall draft proposed standard criminal jury instructions.

Officers and membership: See Attached.

2005-2006 Meeting Schedule: Maximum of 4 per year as needed.

Committee Activities: Drafting standard criminal jury instructions.

Pursuant to Article VIII of the Bylaws of the State Bar of Michigan, "every Committee and Section shall annually make a written report containing a summary o its activities during the association year..." All committee annual reports will be posted to the SBM website. Please submit your report via e-mail to <u>smcmann@mail.michbar.org</u> by May 1, 2006.

Resources Provided by the State Bar of Michigan in Support of Committee Work: Space for meetings and brunch are provided by the State Bar for no more than 4 meetings per year.

Future Goals and Activities: Committee will continue current work on keeping standard jury instructions in compliance with state law.

Chair/Co-Chair Contact Information: See Attached.

Return to : Susan McMann - smcmann@mail.michbar.org Sections & Committees Coordinator

Standing Committee on Jury Instructions, Standard Criminal (250000)

As of October 1, 2005

Jurisdiction: Shall draft standard jury instructions

Chair:

17698 Honorable Charles H. Miel 8th Circuit Court 100 E. Main Street Ionia, Michigan 48846 Phone: (616)527-5315 Fax: (616)527-5381

Reporter:

23411 Honorable randy L. Tahvonen, Saint Johns

Members:

Term Expires September 30, 2006
30156 Hugh Barrington Clarke, Jr. Lansing
39766 Judith S. Gracey, Lathrup Village
23009 Hon. Timothy M. Kenny, Detroit
24119 Frank K. Rhodes, III, Southfield
46935 Stephen M. Taratuta, Detroit
38875 Kym L. Worthy, Detroit

Term Expires September 30, 2007

13253 Hon. Thomas E. Eveland, Charlotte
44771 T. Lynn Hopkins, Grand Rapids,
43616 Karen K. Plants, Detroit
26058 Walter C. Pookrum, Detroit
49217 Jeffrrey T. Rogg, Troy
39115 William J. Valliencourt, Jr. Howell

Term Expires September 30, 2008

13417 Hon. Charles F. Filice, Lansing
14585 Hon. John T. Hammond, Saint Johns
38255 Anica Letica, Pontiac
28597 Gail O. Rodwan, Detroit
35154 Hon. Brian K. Sullivan, Detroit
Commissioner Liaison
37067 Debra A. Walling, Dearborn

State Bar Liaison 42091 Janet K. Welch, Lansing

Member Count: 19 Associate Member Count: 0