STATE BAR OF MICHIGAN 2007-2008 ANNUAL REPORT STANDING COMMITTEE May 2008

Committee Name: Standing Committee on Jury Instructions, Standard Criminal

Jurisdictional Statement:

Draft proposed standard criminal jury instructions for submission to the Michigan Supreme Court

Officers and Membership:

Honorable Charles H. Miel, Chair

Members:

Opolla Brown Hon. William J. Caprathe Hon. Thomas S. Eveland LaNita R. Haith T. Lynn Hopkins Anica Letica Karen K. Plants Walter C. Pookrum Frank K. Rhodes

Reporter:

Hon. Randy L. Tahvonen

Commissioner Liaison:

Thomas C. Rombach

Staff Liaison:

Candace Crowley

2007-08 Meeting Schedule (date and location):

Maximum of 4 per year. Next scheduled meeting is 5/17/08 at the State Bar Building.

Resources Provided by the State Bar of Michigan in Support of Committee Work:

Space for meetings and brunch are provided by the State Bar for no more than 4 meetings.

Committee Activities:

Drafting standard criminal jury instructions.

Future Goals and Activities:

Committee will continue current work on keeping standard jury instructions in compliance with state law.

Brandy Y. Robinson Gail O. Rodwan Jeffrey T. Rogg Hon. Thomas L. Solka Hon. Brian R. Sullivan Gerald S. Surowiec William J. Vailliencourt, Jr. Kym L. Worthy

Chair/Co-Chair Contact Information:

Honorable Charles H. Miel 8th Circuit Court 100 E. Main Street Ionia, MI 48846 Phone: (616) 527-5381 Email: <u>cmiel@ioniacourts.org</u>