STATE BAR OF MICHIGAN 2007-2008 ANNUAL REPORT STANDING COMMITTEE May 2008

Committee Name: Past Presidents' Advisory Council

Jurisdictional Statement:

Provide counsel and recommendations on all matters concerning the State Bar, at the request of the Board of Commissioners. The membership of the committee consists of all past presidents of the State Bar of Michigan.

Officers and Membership:

Scott S. Brinkmeyer, Chair

Members:

Dennis W. Archer Edmund M. Brady, Jr. Scott S. Brinkmeyer Hon. Alfred M. Butzbaugh Thomas W. Cranmer Julia Donovan Darlow Michael Hayes Dettmer Nancy J. Diehl George A. Googasian Joseph L. Hardig, Jr. Hon. Charles W. Joiner Patrick J. Keating Thomas G. Kienbaum John A. Krsul, Jr.

Dean S. Lewis
Eugene D. Mossner
Jon R. Muth
Bruce W. Neckers
Donald L. Reisig
Wallace D. Riley
Hon. Victoria A. Roberts
James K. Robinson
George T. Roumell, Jr.
Thomas J. Ryan
Carl Smith, Jr.
Reginald M. Turner, Jr.
Robert B. Webster

Commissioner Liaison:

Ronald D. Keefe

Staff Liaison:

Janet K. Welch

2007-08 Meeting Schedule:

April 10, 2008, State Bar Building, Lansing

Resources Provided by the State Bar of Michigan in Support of Committee Work:

Research, scheduling, and communications.

Committee Activities:

Committee members in attendance at the April meeting were updated on trends in the profession and on current events at the State Bar. Committee members discussed the role and effectiveness of the unified bar in the face of present challenges and emerging trends.

Future Goals and Activities:

It is anticipated that this committee will reconvene in the fall to continue the discussion commenced at the April meeting.

Chair/Co-Chair Contact Information:

Scott S. Brinkmeyer Mika Meyers Beckett & Jones PLC 900 Monroe Ave NW Grand Rapids, MI 49503 Phone: (616) 632-8000

Fax: (616) 632-8002