## State Bar of Michigan Representative Assembly October 1, 2004

## SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

The following is a summary of proceedings of the State Bar Representative Assembly session held Friday, October 1 2004, at the Radisson Hotel, Capitol Rooms I & II in Lansing, Michigan.

- 1. Call to order by Chairperson Daniel M. Levy.
- 2. Clerk Lori A. Buiteweg declared a quorum (50) was present.
- 3. Upon a motion made and seconded, the calendar was adopted, as proposed.
- 4. As provided in Rule 4.8, the Summary of Proceedings of the March 27, 2004, meeting was deemed approved.
- 5. Upon a motion made and seconded, Cecil Cross of Hazel Park (6<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit), Susan Topp of Gaylord (34<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit) and Don Hiltunen of Hancock (12<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit) were appointed to fill immediate vacancies within their respective circuits. Andrea Michelle Monnett of Marquette (25<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit) was appointed to fill the vacancy beginning in January.
- 6. Upon motions made by Nominating and Awards Committee Chair, Thomas C. Rombach, and seconded, the Assembly approved E. Christopher Johnson and Dean Allen Robb as co-recipients of the 2004 Michael Franck Award and Henry Lukowiak as recipient of the 2004 Unsung Hero Award.
- 7. Mr. Levy addressed the Assembly.
- 8. Scott S. Brinkmeyer, President of the State Bar of Michigan, addressed the Assembly.
- 9. Nancy J. Diehl, President-Elect of the State Bar of Michigan, addressed the Assembly.
- 10. Upon a motion and seconded, the remarks by Executive Director, John T. Berry were moved to be first on the agenda after the lunch break. The calendar, as amended, was approved.
- 11. Terri Stangl, Chair, Standing Committee on Legal Aid, reported on the consideration of proposed amendment to add attorneys with emeritus status to MCR 8.120. Upon motion made and seconded, the Assembly approved Appendix A under Section B and upon motion and seconded, the Assembly approved the amended proposal as a whole.
- 12. Mr. Levy addressed the Assembly regarding the Small Group Breakouts.

Representative Assembly October 1, 2004 Page 2

- 13. Small Group Breakout Leaders addressed the Assembly.
- 14. Rachel Drenovsky, Coordinator of the Michigan Supreme Court Learning Center, addressed the Assembly on the Learning Center.
- 15. Upon a motion made by Nominating and Awards Committee Chair, Thomas C. Rombach, and seconded, the Assembly approved the proposed resolution for the Nominating and Awards Committee to determine annual recipients of the Michael Franck and Unsung Hero Awards, and recruit qualified individuals to fill Assembly vacancies.
- 16. Upon a motion and seconded, the proposed calendar was amended to move item #17 (Swearing in of Elizabeth A. Jamieson as Assembly Chairperson) before #15 (consideration of proposed amendment to Rule 2.2(7)).
- 17. Elizabeth A. Jamieson was sworn in as 2004-2005 Chairperson of the Assembly by her father, William G. Jamieson, Esq.
- 18. Matthew R. Abel, Assembly member, reported on the proposed amendment to Rule 2.2(7). Upon a motion made and seconded, the Assembly approved the proposed amendment to Rule 2.2(7) calling for a SBM hosted forum including all candidates for the Supreme Court Justice.
- 19. Upon a motion made and seconded, Edward L. Haroutunian was unanimously elected Clerk of the Representative Assembly.
- 20. Mr. Levy presented certificates to the outgoing Assembly members whose terms of service expired at the end of the September 2004 meeting.
- 21. Mr. Levy presented plaques to the 2003-2004 Assembly Committee Chairpersons for their work over the past year.
- 22. Ms. Jamieson presented a plaque to Mr. Levy for all his work over the past year as Assembly Chairperson.
- 23. Adjournment.