## State Bar of Michigan Representative Assembly April 21, 2007

## **SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS**

The following is a summary of proceedings of the State Bar Representative Assembly session held Saturday, April 21, 2007, at the Lansing Community College West Campus in Lansing, Michigan.

- 1. Call to order by Chairperson Edward L. Haroutunian.
- 2. Clerk Kathy Kakish declared a quorum (50) was present.
- 3. Upon a motion made and seconded, the revised calendar was adopted, as proposed.
- 4. As provided in Rule 4.8, the Summary of Proceedings of the September 14, 2006, meeting was deemed approved.
- 5. Elizabeth Johnson, Chair, Nominating and Awards Committee, addressed the Assembly in regards to filling vacancies for the current meeting. Upon a motion made and seconded, Laurie Schmidt of St. Joseph (2<sup>nd</sup> Circuit); Michael McClory of Detroit (3<sup>rd</sup> Circuit); Andrew Dillon of Redford Township (3<sup>rd</sup> Circuit); Fred Herrmann of Detroit (3<sup>rd</sup> Circuit); James VanderRoest of Kalamazoo (9<sup>th</sup> Circuit); Rob Witkop of Traverse City (13<sup>th</sup> Circuit); Shon Cook of Muskegon (14<sup>th</sup> Circuit); Peter Peacock of Mt. Clemens (16<sup>th</sup> Circuit); Martin Hillard of Grand Rapids (17<sup>th</sup> Circuit); Maureen VanHoven of Jenison (20<sup>th</sup> Circuit); Alan Cropsey of DeWitt (29<sup>th</sup> Circuit); Julia Close of Midland (42<sup>nd</sup> Circuit; Paul Marcela of Midland (42<sup>nd</sup> Circuit); Roy Mienk of Gladwin (55<sup>th</sup> Circuit); and Katherine Gustafson of Eaton Rapids (56<sup>th</sup> Circuit) were appointed to fill immediate vacancies within their respective Circuits.
- 6. Upon a motion made and seconded the Representative Assembly unanimously approved the 2007 Award Recipients in that the Michael Franck Award be presented to William P. Hampton and Alan D. Kantor and that the Unsung Hero Award be presented to the late Norris J. Thomas.
- 7. Upon a motion made and seconded the Representative Assembly unanimously approved a special resolution honoring the late President Gerald R. Ford to be presented at the Annual Meeting in Grand Rapids.
  - 8. Jon Kingsepp, Immediate Past Chair of the Senior Lawyers Section proposed whether Emeritus Members of the State Bar of Michigan should be entitled to receive referral fees so long as the Emeritus Members do not engage in the practice of law. After motion made and seconded, and discussion, the Assembly failed to pass the proposal.

Representative Assembly April 21, 2007 Page 2

- 9. Jesse Reiter, President of the Michigan Trial Lawyers Association and Tom Rombach, Past Chair of the Representative Assembly presented a proposal to provide guidelines for specialized dockets. After motion made and seconded, and discussion and amendments, the proposal as amended was passed by the Assembly.
- 10. Dan Quick, member of the Representative Assembly and a member of the Civil Courts and Procedures Committee introduced for consideration the adoption of MCR 2.519 pertaining to special masters. After motion made and seconded, and discussion, the Assembly passed the proposal.
- 11. Dan Quick, member of the Representative Assembly and a member of the Civil Courts and Procedure Committee introduced for consideration the adoption of Michigan Court Rules 2.301, 2.302, 2.313, 2.401 and 2.506 dealing with electronic discovery rules. After motion made and seconded, and discussion and amendment, the Assembly passed the proposal as amended.
- 12. Adjournment