State Bar of Michigan Representative Assembly April 21, 2012

SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

The following is a summary of proceedings of the State Bar Representative Assembly session held Saturday, April 21, 2012, at the Lansing Community College West Campus in Lansing, Michigan.

- 1. Call to order by Chairperson Stephen J. Gobbo.
- 2. Clerk Kathleen M. Allen declared a quorum (50 members) was present.
- 3. Upon a motion made and seconded, as the calendar was adopted, as proposed.
- 4. As provided in Rule 4.8, the Summary of Proceedings of the September 15, 2011, meeting was deemed approved.
- 5. Jeff Nellis, Chair, Nominating and Awards Committee, addressed the Assembly on filling vacancies for the current meeting. Upon a motion made and seconded, Aaron Burell (3rd Circuit); John Clark (3rd Circuit); Dan McLean (3rd Circuit); Douglas Kaye (3rd Circuit); Elizabeth Johnson (3rd Circuit); Barry Malone (6th Circuit); Ray Littleton (6th Circuit); Lawrence Shulman (6th Circuit); Michael Elkins (6th Circuit); Syeda Davidson (6th Circuit); Jeffrey Dufon (9th Circuit); Kevin Mackey (12th Circuit); R. Timothy Kohler (16th Circuit); Kathryn Glancy (19th Circuit); Chad Engelhardt (22nd Circuit); Joan Vestrand (22nd Circuit); Ryan Edberg (24th Circuit); Daniel Florip (26th Circuit); Eric Fox (27th Circuit); and John Bishop (54th Circuit) were appointed to fill immediate vacancies within their respective circuits.
- 6. Janet Welch, Executive Director of the State Bar of Michigan addressed the Assembly, focusing on emerging ethical issues, the use of technology to deliver bar services, and an update on the Representative Assembly's anti-trolling court rule proposal.
- 7. Elizabeth Lyon, Director of Governmental Relations for the State Bar of Michigan updated the Assembly on public policy actions related to Assembly positions.
- 8. Jeff Nellis, Chair, Nominating & Awards Committee addressed the Assembly concerning the 2012 Award Nominations. Upon a motion made and seconded the Representative Assembly unanimously approved the 2012 Award Recipients. The Michael Franck Award will be presented to Hon. James H. Fisher of Hastings, MI. The Unsung Hero Award will be presented to two recipients this year, Judy B. Calton of Detroit, MI, and Jeffrey S. Kopp of Detroit, MI.
- 9. Julie I. Fershtman, President of the State Bar of Michigan addressed the Assembly on the Indigent Defense Advisory Commission, the ABA Grass Roots Advocacy Award that the State Bar received while at the ABA Days in Washington D.C., the

Representative Assembly April 21, 2012 Page 2

Practice Management Resource Center, pro bono involvement, and the unauthorized practice of law.

- 10. Chairperson Gobbo addressed the Assembly about the Assembly Review Committee's review of the operations of the Representative Assembly and on the definition of the practice of law.
- 11. Chairperson Gobbo introduced the panelists on the Definition of the Practice of Law discussion: Hon. Elwood Brown, Linda Rexer, Chris Hastings, and Jim Harrington, III. Upon motion made and supported, after discussion, the proposed definition of the practice of law was approved.
- 12. Daniel Quick, Representative Assembly member withdrew a proposed Court Rule MCR 7.301(B) Terms of the Supreme Court. Upon motion made and supported, the proposed Court Rule was withdrawn.
- 13. Adjournment