MEMORANDUM

p 517-346-6300

p 800-968-1442

To: Representative Assembly Members

f 517-482-6248

From: Stephen J. Gobbo, Chair

www.michbar.org

Date: March 19, 2012

306 Townsend Street

Michael Franck Building

Lansing, MI

48933-2012

Rule 6, Section 6, of the Supreme Court Rules concerning the State Bar of Michigan provides that vacancies in the membership of the Assembly shall be filled by appointment by the Assembly itself upon nomination of the remaining representatives from the affected judicial circuit or, if there are none the State Bar recognized local bar association in the affected judicial circuit.

There are currently vacancies in the following judicial circuits effective 2012-2013 Bar year, for which the lawyers whose names are listed have been nominated:

3rd Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2013 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

Aaron Vaughn Burrell, Detroit

Nominated by the Nominating & Awards Committee

3rd Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2014 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

Elizabeth M. Johnson, Plymouth

Nominated by the Nominating & Awards Committee

3rd Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2014 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

John F. Clark, Detroit

Nominated by the Nominating & Awards Committee

3rd Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2014 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

Daniel A. McLean, Northville

Nominated by the Nominating & Awards Committee

3rd Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2014 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

Douglas Kaye, Dearborn

Nominated by the Nominating & Awards Committee

6th Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2012 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

Barry D. Malone, Bloomfield Hills

Nominated by the Nominating & Awards Committee

6th Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2013 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

Ray H. Littleton, II, Farmington Hills

Nominated by the Nominating & Awards Committee

6th Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2013 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

Lawrence B. Shulman, Southfield

Nominated by the Nominating & Awards Committee

6th Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2013 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

Michael D. Elkins, Troy

Nominated by the Nominating & Awards Committee

6th Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2014 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

Syeda F. Davidson, Auburn Hills

Nominated by the Nominating & Awards Committee

9th Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2014 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

Jeffrey J. Dufon, Kalamazoo

Nominated by the Kalamazoo County Bar Association

12th Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2013 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

Kevin L. Mackey, Hancock

Nominated by the Keweenaw, Baraga, Houghton County Bar

Association

16th Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2014 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

R. Timothy Kohler, Clinton Township

Nominated by the Macomb County Bar Association

19th Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2014 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

Kathryn E. Glancy, Manistee

Nominated by the Manistee & Benzie County Bar Association

22nd Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2013 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

Chad D. Engelhardt, Ann Arbor

Nominated by the Washtenaw County Bar Association

22nd Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2014 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

Joan P. Vestrand, Ann Arbor

Nominated by the Washtenaw County Bar Association

24th Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2014 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

Ryan Edberg, Sandusky

Nominated by the Sanilac County Bar Association

26th Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2014 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

Daniel J. Florip, Alpena

Nominated by the Alpena & Montmorency County Association

27th Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2014 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

Eric R. Fox, Hart

Nominated by the Newaygo & Oceana County Bar Association

54th Judicial Circuit: 1 IMMEDIATE vacancy and balance of a term expiring at the close

of the 2013 Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Michigan.

John Bishop, Vassar

Nominated by the Tuscola County Bar Association

NOTE: Following approval of nominations, all newly appointed members' terms will be <u>for</u> the April 21, 2012 and September 20, 2012 meetings only. You must fill out and <u>submit your petition for election to finish your term.</u>

Individuals appointed to fill vacancies with terms expiring at the close of the 2012 Annual Meeting are interim appointees. In order to retain the Assembly seat for a new three-year term (expiring 2015), interim appointees MUST submit a completed Assembly Petition to the State Bar of Michigan by April 30, 2012.

Individuals appointed to fill vacancies with terms expiring at the close of the 2013 or 2014 Annual Meeting are interim appointees whose terms are only effective for the April 21, 2012 and the September 20, 2012 meetings. The reminder of the term will be open for election. Interim appointees **MUST** submit a completed Assembly Petition to the State Bar of Michigan by April 30, 2012 in order to retain the Assembly seat through 2013 or 2014.