State Bar of Michigan Representative Assembly September 19, 2013

SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

The following is a summary of proceedings of the State Bar Representative Assembly session held Saturday, September 19, 2013, at the Lansing Center in Lansing, Michigan.

- 1. Call to order by Chairperson Dana M. Warnez.
- 2. Clerk Vanessa P. Williams was excused from the September 19, 2013 meeting. A motion was made and seconded to appoint Kathleen Allen temporary Clerk. Kathleen Allen declared a quorum (50 members) was present.
- 3. Kathy Kakish, Chair, Rules and Calendar Committee addressed the Assembly with two amendments to the proposed calendar. Upon a motion made and seconded, with the amendments the calendar was adopted as proposed.
- 4. As provided in Rule 4.8, the Summary of Proceedings of the April 27, 2013 meeting was deemed approved.
- 5. Daniel Quick, Chair, Nominating and Awards Committee, addressed the Assembly on filling vacancies for the current meeting. Upon a motion made and seconded, James Fisher (5th Circuit); Carl Collins (6th Circuit); Thomas Fancher (10th Circuit); and Adam Tavlik (54th Circuit) were appointed to fill immediate vacancies within their respective Circuits.
- 6. Elizabeth Jolliffe, presented the *Unsung Hero Award* to James E. Brenner for his probono work. Mr. Brenner accepted the award and addressed the Assembly.
- 7. Hon. Victoria A. Roberts, presented the *Unsung Hero Award* to Elizabeth A. Stafford for her work throughout her career as an Assistant US Attorney. Ms. Stafford accepted the award and addressed the Assembly.
- 8. Stephen J. Gobbo and Valerie Newman, presented the *Michael Franck Award* posthumously to long standing Representative Assembly member Martin P. Krohner. Ms. Krohner accepted the award on his behalf and addressed the Assembly.
- 9. Chairperson Warnez addressed the Assembly with brief remarks and thank yous to the Assembly members.
- 10. Bruce A. Courtade, President, State Bar of Michigan, addressed the Assembly on the following issues: Bar Exams and the Board of Law Examiners, Judicial Campaigns, and the Indigent Defense System.
- 11. Janet Welch, Executive Director, State Bar of Michigan, addressed the Assembly, focusing on the Judicial Campaign expenditures.

- 12. Carl Chioini, Chair, Assembly Review Committee, updated the Assembly on the survey results and the progress on spreading the word about the Assembly.
- 13. Dan Quick, Assembly member addressed the Assembly for consideration of the proposed new Rule 2.602(B)(5) & (6) of the Michigan Court Rules. Upon a motion made and support, after discussion the Assembly referred the Proposed New Rule 2.602(B)(5) & (6) of the Michigan Court Rules to the Drafting Committee, with suggested instructions that Section (B)(6) as originally proposed be deleted from the proposal.
- 14. Daniel Quick, Assembly member, addressed the Assembly for consideration of proposed amendment of MRPC 7.2 Law Firm Advertising. Upon a motion made and support, after discussion and the amendment from the floor, which would add a requirement that advertising communication shall include the name of an active member in good standing of the State Bar of Michigan, or law firm name, who is responsible for the communication's content the amendment passed.
- 15. Dana M. Warnez, Chair of the Assembly, announced a contested race for the election of Clerk. Fred Hermann was moved for nomination by John Clark and seconded. Daniel Quick was moved for nomination by Sheldon Larky and seconded. Members voted and tellers tallied the votes. Upon a motion made and seconded, nominations were closed.
- 16. Dana M. Warnez, Chair of the Assembly, introduced Hon. Cylenthia LaToye Miller of the 36th District Court in Detroit to swear in Kathleen M. Allen.
- 17. Kathleen M. Allen was sworn in as 2013-2014 Chair of the Assembly by Hon. Cylenthia LaToye Miller of the 36th District Court in Detroit.
- Dana M. Warnez, immediate past Chair, presented certificates to the outgoing Assembly members whose terms of service expired at the end of the September 2013 Annual Meeting.
- 19. Dana M. Warnez, immediate past Chair, presented tokens of appreciation to the 2012-2013 Committee Chairs for their work over the past year.
- 20. Dana M. Warnez, immediate past Chair, announced the election of Daniel D. Quick as the 2013-2014 Clerk of the Assembly.
- 21. Kathleen M. Allen, Chair of the Assembly, presented a plaque to Dana M. Warnez for all her work over the past year as Assembly Chair.
- 22. Adjournment