State Bar of Michigan Representative Assembly September 20, 2012

SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

The following is a summary of proceedings of the State Bar Representative Assembly session held Thursday, September 20, 2012, at the DeVoss Place in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

- 1. Call to order by Chair Stephen J. Gobbo.
- 2. Clerk Kathleen M. Allen declared a quorum (50 members) was present.
- 3. Upon a motion made and seconded, as the calendar was adopted, as proposed.
- 4. As provided in Rule 4.8, the Summary of Proceedings of the April 21, 2012, meeting was deemed approved.
- 5. Jeff Nellis, Chair, Nominating and Awards Committee, addressed the Assembly on filling vacancies for the current meeting. Upon a motion made and seconded, David Senawi (6th Circuit) and Michael Jankowski (30th Circuit) were appointed to fill immediate vacancies within their respective circuits.
- 6. Stephen J. Gobbo, Chair of the Assembly, presented the Unsung Hero Award to Judy Calton of Honigman, Miller, Schwartz & Cohn, LLP in Detroit. Ms. Calton accepted the award.
- 7. Stephen J. Gobbo, Chair of the Assembly, presented the Unsung Hero Award to Jeffrey S. Kopp of Foley & Lardner in Detroit. Mr. Kopp accepted the award.
- 8. Stephen J. Gobbo, Chair of the Assembly, presented the Michael Franck Award to Hon. James H. Fisher of Law Weathers in Grand Rapids. Judge Fisher accepted the award and addressed the Assembly.
- 9. Stephen J. Gobbo, Chair of the Assembly, asked the Assembly for a moment of silence for Martin Krohner who passed away in June. Mr. Gobbo also addressed the Assembly on the procedure for submitting a proposal and the task assigned to the Assembly Review Committee.
- 10. Richard M. Barron, Chair, Assembly Review Committee addressed the Assembly on the review of the operations of the Assembly and the direction the Committee will go with new leadership.
- 11. Matthew Abel, member of the Assembly, addressed the Assembly concerning MCR 8.116 Mandatory Posting of Court Dockets by all courts. Upon motion made, support, discussion, and an amendment, the motion passed adding the following language to the court rule:

- "Before each courthouse opens its doors to the public, all daily court dockets for all courts in the courthouse, <u>excluding parties' names in non-public cases</u>, shall be displayed in a common place in the courthouse and in a manner that can be read easily by the general public."
- 12. Julie Fershtman, President of the State Bar of Michigan, addressed the Assembly, focusing on the solo and small firm practitioner attorneys, the Practice Management Resource Center, the economics of law practice survey, and new mentoring program.
- 13. Janet Welch, Executive Director of the State Bar of Michigan, addressed the Assembly, focusing on the definition of practice of law proposal that passed at the April meeting and legislation that has been introduced on the public defense system.
- 14. Greg Ulrich, Chair, Master Lawyers Section and former Assembly Chair, made a presentation in partnership with the Young Lawyers Section on advance preparations for an attorney's death or incapacity. A panel was available to answer questions after the presentation.
- 15. Stephen J. Gobbo, Chair of the Assembly, announced a contested race for the election of Clerk. Fred Hermann was moved for nomination by Patrick McLain and seconded. Vanessa Williams was moved for nomination by Elizabeth Jolliffe and seconded. Daniel Quick was moved for nomination by Sheldon Larky and seconded. Members voted and tellers tallied the votes. Upon a motion made and seconded, nominations were closed.
- 16. Stephen J. Gobbo, Chair of the Assembly, introduced Hon. Michael J. Riordan, Michigan Court of Appeals to swear in Dana M, Warnez.
- 17. Dana M. Warnez was sworn in as 2012-2013 Chair of the Assembly by Hon. Michael J. Riordan, Michigan Court of Appeals.
- 18. Stephen J. Gobbo, immediate past Chair, announced the election of Vanessa Williams as the 2012-2013 Clerk of the Assembly.
- 19. Stephen J. Gobbo, immediate past Chair, presented certificates to the outgoing Assembly members whose terms of service expired at the end of the September 2012 Annual Meeting.
- 20. Stephen J. Gobbo, immediate past Chair, presented tokens of appreciation to the 2011-2012 Committee Chairs for their work over the past year.
- 21. Dana M. Warnez, Chair of the Assembly, presented a plaque to Stephen J. Gobbo for all his work over the past year as Assembly Chair.
- 22. Adjournment