STATE BAR OF MICHIGAN SENIOR LAWYER SECTION ANNUAL REPORT 2008-2009

Council Membership:

2008-2009 Officers and Members:

Chair: John M. Barr

Barr Anhut and Associates, P.C.

105 Pearl St.

Ypsilanti, MI 48197

Chair-Elect: Edgar W. Pugh, Jr.

Pugh & Associates, P.C.

6905 Telegraph Rd. Ste 125 Bloomfield Hills, Mi 48301

Secretary: Richard F. Fellrath

4056 Middlebury Dr.

Troy, MI 48085

Treasurer: H. Rollin Allen

44 1st. Street

Mt. Clemens, MI 48043

Council Members

Dennis Shrewsbury 151 Adams St. Plymouth, MI 48170

Catherine D. Hoort 230 Kent Street Portland, MI 48875

George S. Lilly

1232 Edmund ton Dr. Grosse Pointe Woods, MI 48236

Miles C. Gerberding Miles C. Gerberding PLC 207 Main St. P.O. Box 272 Frankfort, MI 49635

Daniel J. Van Antwerp 2526 Portabello Dr. Troy, MI 48083

John H. Kingsepp John H. Kingsepp PLLC 321 Wilcox St. Rochester, MI 48307

Joseph C. Cox 1320 Ashebury Lane Apt. 311 Howell, MI 48843

Alfred E. Gade 591 Yarmouth Rd. Bloomfield Hills, MI 48301

William K Van't Hof Charron & Hanisch PLC 4949 Plainfield Ave. NE Grand Rapids, MI 49525

Immediate Past Chair: Asher Tilchin Tilchin & Hall, P.C. 31731 Northwestern Hw Suite 155 Farmington Hills, MI 48334

Commissioner Liaison: Gregory L. Ulrich
Cummings McClorey Davis & Acho PLC

33900 Schoolcraft Rd. Livonia, MI 48150

Parliamentarian: Kathleen Williams Newell P.O. Box 19301 Detroit, MI 48219

Staff Liaison: Amy Castner
Michael Franck Building
Member Services Representative
Lansing, MI 48933-2012

2008 Senior Lawyers Section Members and Council Annual Meeting

The section annual meeting was held at Soaring Eagle Casino in Mt. Pleasant, Michigan on August 22-24, 2008. Alfred Gade introduced our featured speaker, Jack Krasula of WJR Detroit Radio. Jack gave an inspirational talk, citing the values and beliefs of various worldwide celebrated leaders that he had contacted personally requesting the secret of their success. Men and women for others, or how well did you love others was their universal core belief which should guide our own practice and life experience. The section presented the Bob Hess award to Ronald F. Keefe. The award is for an attorney who exemplifies personal commitment to the profession and devotion to public service. Mr. Keefe accepted the award and provided an informative and thoughtful presentation on his proposal for state bar action in recognizing the Senior Lawyers Section.

2008 SBM Annual Meeting.

The Senior Lawyers Section Council hosted a presentation on mediation at the State Bar Annual Meeting. Panelists Jon Kingsepp, Asher Tilchen, Fred Gade, Bill Weber and Doug Van Epps provided information on the mediation process and opportunities for senior lawyers.

Section Activities:

<u>Meetings.</u> The Senior Lawyers Section Council met monthly. Because of tight finances the meetings were for the most part by conference call.

50th Celebration. The Council participated in the SBM Senior Lawyer's 50th Honorees Golden Celebration lunch. Chair John M. Barr together with SBM president Edward Pappas made the presentation to the 50 year honorees. Mr. Barr addressed the group on recollections of 50 years of law practice and the nobility of the law as a calling.

Planning Group. Immediate past Council chair Asher Tilchin, Miles C. Gerberding and SBM Board of Commissioner liaison Gregory Ulrich served on the SBM Senior Lawyer Section Planning Group. Gregory Ulrich and Ronald Keefe served as co-chairs. The Planning Group met a number of times and furnished a Summary Report, Recommendations and Work Plan to the SBM Board of Commissioners in September of 2008. After the presentation to the Board and receiving comments and suggestions from the Board the Planning Group went back to work and made modified recommendations to the Board in June of 2009. At the Board meeting on July 11, 2009 the Board accepted the recommendations and passed legislation to change the name of the Senior Lawyers Section to" Master Lawyers Section" and provided a budget of \$6,000 for the first year of the renamed section to begin in the 2010-2011 bar year. Membership requirements were also changed to include all Michigan attorneys aged 60 and/or with 30 years of membership, without payment of section dues. Also members with 20 years of membership and/or age 50 may elect to join by payment of dues. Members have the ability to opt out of membership if they wish.

<u>By-law Committee.</u> The Senior Lawyers Section Council established a by-law committee to review the section changes and work with the Planning Group to recommend by-law changes.

<u>Dues increase</u>. The financial picture of the section has been bleak in recent years. Accordingly the Senior Lawyers Section Council voted

to increase section dues \$5 per year to \$30 per year for the 2009-2010 bar year.

<u>Web site photos</u>. Photos of Council members were added to the Section State Bar web site.

The Council added an ad hoc member, Kathleen Williams Newell as Council parliamentarian.

Council chair John M. Barr received a SBM scholarship and attended the State Bar Leader's Forum on June 11 and 12, 2009.