Michigan Bar Journal

# State Bar 2008 Election Results

# SBM Board of Commissioners

Attorneys David R. Brake, Richard J. Siriani, and Elias J. Escobedo have won contested seats in this year's State Bar of Michigan Board of Commissioners elections. They will all serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the SBM Annual Meeting in 2011. The BOC provides oversight to the various operations of the Bar, such as finance, public policy, member services, and other related matters.



David Brake won in District E, representing Barry, Clinton, Eaton, Gratiot, Ingham, Ionia, Livingston, Montcalm, and Shiawassee counties. He is a shareholder in the Lansing law firm

David Brake

of Knaggs, Barter, Brake and Schneider, P.C., and has been in private practice for 21 years. He has been a member of the board of directors of the Ingham County Bar Association since 2000 and was its president in 2006-2007. He has also been active in various State Bar committees. Mr. Brake is a regular speaker at the Peoples' Law School held in Lansing, and is very committed to community volunteer projects such as helping developmentally challenged children.

Richard Siriani and Elias Escobedo won in District I, representing Oakland County. Siriani is senior counsel at Miller, Canfield, Paddock and Stone P.L.C., practicing in the firm's Troy office.



**Richard Siriani** 

He concentrates in the areas of probate and trust administration and litigation, and estate planning. He serves on various State Bar committees and is currently vice chair

of the Committee on Special Projects for the Probate and Estate Planning Section.

Elias Escobedo has been in practice for 23 years, concentrating in the areas of personal injury, family, criminal, and employment law. He is president of the Oakland County Bar Association



and a past president of the Hispanic Bar Association of Michigan. Mr. Escobedo has served two terms on the SBM Board of Commissioners and in various sections and committees. He has had a distinguished military career, receiving two Purple Hearts during his service in the Vietnam War.

Four attorneys won uncontested races for the 32-member Board of Commissioners:



wee counties.

Donald G. Rockwell of Flint won in District B, which covers Bay, Huron, Genesee, Midland, Sanilac, Saginaw, and Tuscola counties.

**Richard L. Cunning-**Donald G. Rockwell ham, Lambro Niforos, and Margaret A. Costello won in District H, which covers Wayne, Monroe, and Lena-

# SBM Representative Assembly

William J. Ard of Williamston and Goldie Adele of Lansing were reelected to contested seats on the Representative Assembly serving Ingham County. Ard, a solo practitioner who focuses on elder law, consumer law, and probate issues, will serve a three-year term expiring at the close of the Annual Meeting in 2011. Adele, an administrator at Thomas M. Cooley Law School, will serve two years. His term ends at the close of the Annual Meeting in 2010.

The 150-member Representative Assembly is the final policymaking body of the State Bar of Michigan. Forty-nine other attorneys won unopposed races for Representative Assembly seats. They are:

#### 2nd Circuit—Berrien County

Laurie Wightman Schmidt, St. Joseph

#### **3rd Circuit—Wayne County**

Terrence R. Haugabook, Detroit Margaret M. Van Houten, Detroit John C. Philo, Detroit Solon M. Phillips, Detroit Nicholas Charles Krieger, Detroit

#### 6th Circuit—Oakland County

John F. Mills, Birmingham Mark L. Teicher, Bloomfield Hills LaNita R. Haith, Commerce Township John Mucha III, Bloomfield Hills James T. Weiner, Bingham Farms Paul J. Raine, Troy Vanessa Peterson Williams, Southfield Jennifer Uetz Hastings, Bloomfield Hills Steven L. Rotenberg, Bingham Farms Jeffrey B. Linden, Farmington Hills Krista Licata Haroutunian, **Bingham Farms** David A. Wolfe, Troy

April Lynne Neihsl, Farmington Hills

### 7th Circuit—Genesee County

Shayla Dawn Blankenship, Flint

# 8th Circuit—Ionia and **Montcalm Counties**

Thomas Warren Chadwick, Ionia

## 9th Circuit—Kalamazoo County

Donald L. Roberts, Kalamazoo Alan B. Koenig, Portage Kristin Ann Cole, Kalamazoo

Michigan Bar Journal

#### 10th Circuit—Saginaw County

John P. Lozano, Saginaw

# 11th Circuit—Schoolcraft, Mackinac, Luce, and Alger Counties

Chad W. Peltier, Newberry

# 12th Circuit—Keweenaw, Baraga, and Houghton Counties

Don R. Hiltunen, Hancock

#### 16th Circuit—Macomb County

Michael R. Osaer, Shelby Township

#### 17th Circuit—Kent County

Martin J. Hillard, Grand Rapids Jeffrey S. Crampton, Grand Rapids Kevin Lesperance, Grand Rapids Hal F. Ostrow, Grand Rapids

#### 20th Circuit—Ottawa County

Ronald L. Foster, Jenisen

#### 21st Circuit—Isabella County

Becky J. Bolles, Mt. Pleasant

#### 22nd Circuit—Washtenaw County

Sheila M. Johnson, Ann Arbor Mark T. Boonstra, Ann Arbor John W. Reiser III, Ann Arbor Erane C. Washington-Kendrick, Ann Arbor

#### 25th Circuit—Marquette County

Andrea M. Monnett, Marquette

#### 26th Circuit—Alpena and Montmorency Counties

Dennis P. Grenkowicz, Alpena

#### 27th Circuit—Newaygo and Oceana Counties

Eric R. Fox, Hart

# 28th Circuit—Missaukee and Wexford Counties

Eilisia G. Schwartz, Cadillac

#### 37th Circuit—Calhoun County

Darling A. Garcia, Battle Creek

# 39th Circuit—Lenawee County

Gregg P. Iddings, Adrian

#### 40th Circuit—Lapeer County

Michael C. Delling, Lapeer

45th Circuit—St. Joseph County Christine M. Everson Yancey, Mendon

**48th Circuit—Allegan County** Amanda S. Haverdink, Allegan

## 51st Circuit—Lake and Mason Counties

Jeffrey C. Nellis, Ludington

#### 56th Circuit—Eaton County

Michael W. Thomsen, Eaton Rapids

# **Judicial Tenure Commission**



Former State Bar President (2004–2005) **Nancy J. Diehl** was re-elected to a second term as a member of the Judicial Tenure Commission. Her three-year term commences January 1, 2009,

Nancy J. Diehl

and expires December 31, 2011.

The Judicial Tenure Commission is a constitutionally created body that promotes the integrity of the judicial process and preserves public confidence in the courts.

Ms. Diehl is a Wayne County prosecutor with over 25 years of experience. She currently heads the Trial Division, overseeing General Trials, Homicide, Auto Theft, Major Drugs, and the Child and Family Abuse Bureau. She is a national expert on child abuse and family violence related matters and is a sought-after speaker.

# Young Lawyers Section Executive Council

In the elections for the Young Lawyers Executive Council, five attorneys won uncontested seats. All the winners will serve two-year terms expiring at the close of the Annual Meeting in 2010.

Andrea C. Irons of Utica won in Wayne and Macomb counties. In Oakland County, James William Low of Southfield and Maureen M. McGinnis of Troy also won uncontested seats. Erika Lynn Anderson of St. Johns and Alexandra Nassar of Flint won in District 3, representing all other counties.

The Young Lawyers Executive Council governs the members of the Young Lawyers Section. It is comprised of a maximum of 23 members. The Young Lawyers Section is the largest and oldest section within the State Bar. It provides education, information, and analysis about issues of concern through meetings, seminars, public service programs, and newsletters. The section has won numerous awards for its public service and educational programs.