# State Bar 2015 Election Results

## **SBM Board of Commissioners**

Four attorneys—Hon. Clinton Canady III, Hon. Michael J. Riordan, Dana M. Warnez, and Erane C. Washington won contested seats in this year's Board of Commissioners elections. All will serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the 2018 Annual Meeting.

Hon. Clinton Canady III, elected to serve District E representing Barry, Clinton, Eaton, Gratiot, Ingham, Ionia, Livingston, Montcalm, and Shiawassee counties, is a judge in the General Trial Division of Ingham County's 30th Circuit Court. Hon. Michael J. Riordan, elected to serve District H representing Lenawee, Monroe, and Wayne counties, is a judge of the Michigan Court of Appeals. Dana M. Warnez, elected to serve District D representing Macomb and St. Clair counties, focuses her practice on probate and estate planning, drafting and administering trusts, and real estate matters at Schoenherr, Cahill & Warnez PC in Center Line. Erane C. Washington, elected to serve District G representing Jackson and Washtenaw counties, is principal of Erane C. Washington-Kendrick, PLLC, an Ann Arbor law firm focusing on real estate, business, and commercial litigation.

Two attorneys won unopposed races to the Board of Commissioners in District I representing Oakland County. Both will serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the 2018 Annual Meeting. **Hon. Maureen M. McGinnis** is a judge in the 54-2 District Court in Troy. **Jules B. Olsman** is the president of Olsman Mueller Wallace & MacKenzie PC in Berkley.

The Board of Commissioners provides oversight to the State Bar on finance, public policy, professional standards, and member services and communications.





Hon. Clinton Canady III Hon. Michael J. Riordan



Dana M. Warnez



Erane C. Washington



Hon. Maureen M. McGinnis



Jules B. Olsman

### SBM Representative Assembly

Eleven attorneys won contested races for the SBM Representative Assembly.

Nine attorneys—John F. Clark, Richard L. Cunningham, Aghogho O. Edevbie, Susan L. Haroutunian, Diane Hutcherson, Elizabeth M. Johnson, John C. Philo, Vincent A. Romano, and Elizabeth A. Young—won contested elections to represent Wayne County for the Third Circuit.

Ashish S. Joshi and Elizabeth A. Kitchen-Troop won contested elections to represent Washtenaw County for the 22nd Circuit.

Thirty-six attorneys won unopposed races in the Representative Assembly. They are:

#### 1st Circuit—Hillsdale County

Barry F. Poulson

#### 2nd Circuit—Berrien County

Mary Margaret-LaSata Spiegel

#### 4th Circuit—Jackson County Erica L. Zimny

iica L. Ziiiiiy

#### 6th Circuit—Oakland County

Matthew M. Aneese Heather J. Atnip James P. Brennan Patrick D. Crandell Michael D. Elkins Krista L. Haroutunian Anthony J. Kochis Kenneth B. Morgan Christian G. Ohanian Cesare A. Sclafani Mark L. Teicher Matthew J. Turchyn

August 2015 Michigan Bar Journal

#### State Bar 2015 Election Results 15

7th Circuit—Genesee County Chadd A. O'Brien

8th Circuit—Ionia and Montcalm Counties Tracie L. McCarn-Dinehart

9th Circuit—Kalamazoo County Pamela C. Enslen

10th Circuit—Saginaw County Thomas H. Fancher John P. Lozano

14th Circuit—Muskegon County David B. Kortering

15th Circuit—Branch County William D. Renner II

16th Circuit—Macomb County Sterlin Mesadieu

Ryan Zemke

#### 17th Circuit—Kent County

Nicholas V. Dondzila Nicholas M. Ohanesian

#### 19th Circuit—Benzie and **Manistee Counties**

Mark Quinn

#### 23rd Circuit—Alcona, Arenac, Iosco, and Oscoda Counties

Ann V. Hopcroft

30th Circuit—Ingham County Carmen G. Fahie

34th Circuit—Ogemaw and **Roscommon Counties** Dawn M. LaCasse

38th Circuit—Monroe County Michael C. Brown

45th Circuit—St. Joseph County David A. Marvin

49th Circuit—Mecosta and **Osceola** Counties Nathan L. Hull

52nd Circuit—Huron County Suzanne M. Krohn

# 53rd Circuit—Cheboygan and **Presque Isle Counties**

Aaron J. Gauthier

#### 57th Circuit—Emmet County Christina L. DeMoore

The 150-member Representative Assembly was created in 1972 to increase the proportion of members who actively participate in State Bar policy; it serves as the SBM final policymaking body.

# SBM Judicial Tenure Commission

Hon. Lawrence S. Talon of Detroit won an uncontested election for a three-year term on the Judicial Tenure Commission that begins January 1, 2016 and expires December 31, 2018.

The JTC is a constitutionally created body that promotes the integrity of the judicial process and preserves public confidence in the courts.

# **SBM Young Lawyers Section Executive Council**

Syeda Davidson of Clinton Township won an uncontested election in District 1 representing Wayne and Macomb counties for a two-year term expiring in 2017.

Two attorneys-Samantha J. Orvis of Troy and Matthew P. Breuer of Bloomfield Hills-won uncontested elections in District 2 representing Oakland County for two-year terms expiring in 2017.

Three attorneys-Elizabeth K. Abdnour of East Lansing, Kara R. Hart-Negrich of Lansing, and Laura M. Kubit of Caro-won uncontested elections in District 3 representing all Michigan counties except for Wayne, Oakland, and Macomb for two-year terms expiring in 2017.

The Young Lawyers Executive Council governs the members of the Young Lawyers Section, one of the State Bar's largest sections. The section provides education, information, and analysis about issues of concern through meetings, seminars, public service programs, and newsletters. It has won numerous awards for its public service and educational programs.

