# State Bar 2016 Election Results

#### **SBM Board of Commissioners**

Three attorneys—Dennis M. Barnes, Edward L. Haroutunian, and Michael S. Hohauser-won contested seats in this year's Board of Commissioners elections. All will serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the 2019 Annual Meeting.

Dennis M. Barnes, elected to serve District H representing Wayne, Monroe, and Lenawee counties, is a member of Barris, Sott, Denn & Driker in Detroit, focusing his practice on business litigation. Edward L. Haroutunian and Michael S. Hohauser were both elected to serve District I representing Oakland County. Haroutunian practices law at Haroutunian Licata Haroutunian, PC, in Bingham Farms. Hohauser practices law with Hohauser Kuchon in Troy.

Four attorneys won unopposed races to the Board of Commissioners. Victoria A. Radke won a seat in District A representing the Upper Peninsula and northern Lower Peninsula. Radke serves as Delta County friend of the court in Escanaba. E. Thomas McCarthy Jr. and Robert J. Buchanan won in District C representing Oceana, Muskegon, Ottawa, Newaygo, Kent, Osceola, Mecosta, Clare, Isabella, and Gladwin counties. Danielle Mason Anderson won in District F representing Allegan, Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Hillsdale, Kalamazoo, St. Joseph, and Van Buren counties. McCarthy practices law with Smith Haughey Rice & Roegge PC in Grand Rapids. Buchanan serves as managing member for Buchanan & Buchanan PLC in Grand Rapids.

The Board of Commissioners provides oversight to the State Bar on finance, public policy, professional standards, and member services and communications.



Dennis M. Barnes



Edward L. Haroutunian



#### Michael S. Hohauser



Victoria A. Radke



E. Thomas McCarthy Jr.



**Danielle Mason Anderson** 



Seven attorneys won contested races for the SBM Representative Assembly.

Matthew R. Abel and Daniel J. Ferris won contested elections to represent Wayne County for the Third Circuit.

Stephen J. Gobbo, Jessica L. Zimbelman, and Christopher L. Jackson won contested elections to represent Ingham County for the 30th Circuit.

Dennis L. Perkins and William H. Hougaboom won contested elections to represent Livingston County for the 44th Circuit.

Thirty-one attorneys won unopposed races in the Representative Assembly. They are:

#### 4th Circuit—Jackson County

Philip M. Moilanen

#### 6th Circuit—Oakland County

Michael J. Blau Henry S. Gornbein Steven L. Rotenberg Christopher R. Schaedig Shannon M. Smith Paul A. Thursam James T. Weiner

#### 7th Circuit—Genesee County

Nancy K. Chinonis

#### 9th Circuit—Kalamazoo County

Mark A. Holsomback

#### 12th Circuit—Baraga, Houghton, and Keweenaw Counties

Diana M. Langdon

#### 13th Circuit—Antrim, Grand Traverse, and Leelanau Counties

Lea Ann Sterling

#### State Bar 2016 Election Results 13

### 16th Circuit—Macomb County

Randall Chioini Laura I. Marji Karen Trickey Pappas

## 17th Circuit—Kent County

Michael P. Hanrahan

# 22nd Circuit—Washtenaw County

Peter M. Falkenstein

# 25th Circuit—Marguette County

Erica N. Payne Roell

#### 29th Circuit—Clinton and **Gratiot Counties**

Colleen M. Davis

# 31st Circuit—St. Clair County

Gerrow D. Mason

#### 32nd Circuit—Gogebic and **Ontonagon Counties**

Anna R. Talaska

33rd Circuit—Charlevoix County Katrina D. Martin

37th Circuit—Calhoun County David E. Gilbert

# 39th Circuit—Lenawee County

Jennifer A. Frost

# 40th Circuit—Lapeer County

Bernard A. Jocuns

#### 41st Circuit—Dickinson, Iron, and Menominee Counties

Kristin L. Kass

### 42nd Circuit—Midland County

Angela M. Cole Jessica L. Robison

# 53rd Circuit—Cheboygan and **Presque Isle Counties**

Melissa Goodrich

# 56th Circuit—Eaton County

Jessica S. Fox

#### 57th Circuit—Emmet County

Christina L. DeMoore

The 150-member Representative Assembly was created in 1972 to increase the proportion of members who actively participate in State Bar policy; it serves as the SBM final policymaking body.

# SBM Judicial Tenure Commission

Thomas J. Ryan of Sylvan Lake won a contested election for a three-year term on the Judicial Tenure Commission that begins January 1, 2017 and expires December 31, 2019.

The JTC is a constitutionally created body that promotes the integrity of the judicial process and preserves public confidence in the courts.

# **SBM Young Lawyers Section Executive Council**

Ryan Zemke of Utica won an uncontested election in District 1 representing Wayne and Macomb counties for a twoyear term expiring in 2018.

Three attorneys-Jerome Crawford of Troy, Tanya N. Cripps of Auburn Hills, and Choi T. Portis of Southfield-won uncontested elections in District 2 representing Oakland County for two-year terms expiring in 2018.

Three attorneys-Erica N. Payne Roell of Marquette, Katherine J. Bennett of Lansing, and Roberta L. Sacharski of Flintwon uncontested elections in District 3 representing all Michigan counties except for Wayne, Oakland, and Macomb for two-year terms expiring in 2018.

The Young Lawyers Executive Council governs the members of the Young Lawyers Section, one of the State Bar's largest sections. The section provides education, information, and analysis about issues of concern through meetings, seminars, public service programs, and newsletters. It has won numerous awards for its public service and educational programs.

#### **REAL PROPERTY LAW SECTION**

# Michigan Land Title Standards 2nd Supplement (2014) 6th Edition

The Second Supplement (2014) to the 6th Edition of the Michigan Land Title Standards prepared and published by the Land Title Standards Committee of the Real Property Law Section is now available for purchase. Payment must accompany all orders.

#### Order online: http://e.michbar.org

v #12.05 ···· 1

► Order by mail/fax:

#### MICHIGAN LAND TITLE STANDARDS Second Supplement (2014) to the 6th Edition

đ

∧ \$15.95 each = \$
plus 6% sales tax×.84 = \$
Order Total \$
P Number:
Name:
Address:
City:
State: Zip:
Phone:
Make checks payable to the STATE BAR OF MICHIGAN.
Check Number: Total \$
—or—
□ Visa or □ MasterCard Exp. Date:
Name as it appears on card:
Debit/Credit Card Number:
Authorized Signature:
► Mail to: State Bar of Michigan

Michael Franck Building Attn: Finance Department 306 Townsend St. Lansing, MI 48933-2012

Fax to: (517) 372-5921

For additional information, contact Member Services at (517) 346-6326.