State Bar 2017 Election Results

SBM Board of Commissioners

Seven attorneys—David C. Anderson, Bernhardt D. Christenson III, Shauna L. Dunnings, James W. Heath, Hon. David A. Perkins, Daniel D. Quick, and Gregory **L. Ulrich**—won contested seats in this year's Board of Commissioners elections. All will serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the 2020 Annual Meeting.

David C. Anderson and Daniel D. Quick were both elected to serve District I representing Oakland County. Anderson is a shareholder at Collins Einhorn Farrell in Southfield, dedicating his practice primarily to defending Michigan lawyers and law firms against personal liability claims. Quick is a trial lawyer with Dickinson Wright in Troy and national leader of the firm's commercial litigation practice.

Bernhardt D. Christenson III was elected to serve District B representing Bay, Genesee, Huron, Lapeer, Midland, Saginaw, Sanilac, and Tuscola counties. He started his own firm, Christenson & Fiederlein, in Flint in 2006.

Shauna L. Dunnings was elected to serve District E representing Barry, Clinton, Eaton, Gratiot, Ingham, Ionia, Livingston, Montcalm, and Shiawassee counties. She currently serves as administrator for the 30th Judicial Circuit Court in Lansing.

James W. Heath, Hon. David A. Perkins, and Gregory L. Ulrich were elected to serve District H representing Monroe, Lenawee, and Wayne counties. Heath is the city of Detroit's first inspector general, and in that role is responsible for rooting out waste, abuse, fraud, and corruption in city government. Perkins serves on the 36th District Court in Detroit. Ulrich runs a law practice in Grosse Pointe Woods with a focus on business law, real estate law, finance, technology, and litigation.

The Board of Commissioners provides oversight to the State Bar on finance, public policy, professional standards, and member services and communications.



David C. Anderson



Bernhardt D. Christenson III



Shauna L. Dunnings



James W. Heath



Hon. David A. Perkins



Daniel D. Quick



Gregory L. Ulrich

SBM Representative Assembly

Forty-seven attorneys won unopposed races in the State Bar Representative Assembly.

1st Circuit—Hillsdale County

Karlye A. Horton

3rd Circuit—Wayne County

Aaron V. Burrell Mark M. Koroi Thomas M. J. Lavigne Daniel D. McLean Stephen M. Taratuta Elizabeth A. Young

4th Circuit—Jackson County

Terry J. Klaasen

6th Circuit—Oakland County

Matthew M. Aneese Marco M. Bisbikis John Chau Patrick D. Crandell David J. Eagles Sheldon G. Larky

Dawn M. King Victoria B. King Aristidi D. Papaioannou Chelsea M. Rebeck Jennifer R. Turchyn Matthew J. Turchyn

7th Circuit—Genesee County Jill L. Nylander

8th Circuit—Ionia and **Montcalm Counties** Ryan Cade C. Villet

9th Circuit—Kalamazoo County Alan B. Koenig

10th Circuit—Saginaw County Randy L. Price

13th Circuit—Antrim, Grand Traverse, and Leelanau Counties

John R. Blakeslee

16th Circuit—Macomb County

R. Timothy Kohler

17th Circuit—Kent County

Martin J. Hillard Joshua Z. Kosmerick

18th Circuit—Bay County

Marcus R. Garske Jessie S. Wood

20th Circuit—Ottawa County

Ronald L. Foster

21st Circuit—Isabella County

Robert M. Backus

22nd Circuit—Washtenaw County

Jonathan D. Goslow Elizabeth Kitchen-Troop John W. Reiser III

26th Circuit—Alpena and **Montmorency Counties**

Daniel J. Florip

27th Circuit—Newaygo and Oceana Counties

Ellsworth J. Stay Jr.

30th Circuit—Ingham County

Darling A. Garcia

31st Circuit—St. Clair County

Hilary B. Georgia

35th Circuit—Shiawassee County

Michael L. Herendeen

37th Circuit—Calhoun County

James L. Jordan

43rd Circuit—Cass County

Kelley James-Jura

47th Circuit—Delta County

Ian R. Rothe

49th Circuit—Mecosta and Osceola Counties

Erin M. Carrier Barnhart

51st Circuit—Lake and Mason Counties

Kathryn E. Glancy

54th Circuit—Tuscola County

Gregory H. Bringard

55th Circuit—Clare and **Gladwin Counties**

Hon. Thomas R. Evans

The 150-member Representative Assembly was created in 1972 to increase the proportion of members who actively participate in State Bar policy; it serves as the SBM final policymaking body.

SBM Judicial Tenure Commission

James W. Burdick of Bloomfield Hills won a contested election for a three-year term on the Judicial Tenure Commission that begins January 1, 2018, and expires on December 31, 2020.

The JTC is a constitutionally created body that promotes the integrity of the judicial process and preserves public confidence in the courts.

SBM Young Lawyers Section Executive Council

Three attorneys-Elisha M. Oakes of St. Clair Shores, Colemon L. Potts of Detroit, and Aaron P. Sohaski of Detroitwon uncontested elections in District 1 representing Wayne and Macomb counties for two-year terms expiring in 2019.

Three attorneys-Matthew P. Breuer of Royal Oak, Silvia A. Mansoor of Troy, and Aristidi D. Papaioannou of Farmington won uncontested elections in District 2 representing Oakland County for two-year terms expiring in 2019.

Four attorneys—Kara R. Hart-Negrich of Lansing, Amy S. Krieg of East Lansing, Laura M. Kubit of Caro, and Bobby A. Ficklin Jr. of Lansing-won contested elections in District 3 representing all Michigan counties except for Wayne, Oakland, and Macomb for two-year terms expiring in 2019.

The Young Lawyers Executive Council governs the members of the Young Lawyers Section, one of the State Bar's largest sections. The section provides education, information, and analysis about issues of concern through meetings, seminars, public service programs, and newsletters. It has won numerous awards for its public service and educational programs.

2017 Annual Meeting **Members of the Michigan State Bar Foundation**

The 2017 Annual Meeting of the Members of the Michigan State Bar Foundation will be held at 2:00 p.m. on Wednesday, September 27 at the Cobo Center, 1 Washington Blvd., Detroit, Michigan 48226.

At the meeting, Foundation members will elect trustees, receive a report on Foundation activities, and conduct other business consistent with the bylaws of the Foundation.

2017 Annual Business Meeting and Reception Fellows of the Michigan State Bar Foundation

The Annual Business Meeting for the Fellows of the Michigan State Bar Foundation will be held at 4:15 p.m. on Wednesday, September 27 at the Riverfront Salon West at the Cobo Center, 1 Washington Blvd., Detroit, Michigan 48226.

At the meeting, Fellows members will elect officers and receive a report on Fellows and Foundation activities.

The Annual Reception of the Fellows of the Michigan State Bar Foundation (invitation only) will be held from 4:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. at the Riverfront Salon West at the Cobo Center, 1 Washington Blvd., Detroit, Michigan 48226.