

22

# Women in the Law

## Theme Introduction

#### By Donna M. MacKenzie

his year, the Women Lawyers Association of Michigan (WLAM) proudly celebrates its 100th anniversary. This historic milestone was kick started in April with our Centennial Gala. The theme was "Looking Back, Moving Forward." At the gala, we honored the past presidents of our state organization and of each of our regional chapters and foundation. We recognized more than 350 women who have been leaders within the organization.

WLAM was founded one year before women had the right to vote in this country. Five self-proclaimed "ardent Portias of Detroit" organized the association for the purpose of cooperation, exchange of information, social benefit, and preservation of a high standard of ethics.

Today, the organization has grown extensively in size and purpose. Members include attorneys, judges, and law students. Our mission is to advance the interest of female members of the legal profession, promote improvements in the administration of justice, and promote equality and social justice for all people.

Currently, WLAM has seven regional chapters throughout the state: Great Lakes Bay, Macomb, Mid-Michigan, Oakland/Women's Bar Association, Washtenaw, Wayne, and Western. Each region has its own president, officers, and board of directors.

In 1983, WLAM established a foundation to support the education of women who show leadership in advancing the position of women in society. This mission is carried out annually through scholarship awards to outstanding female students attending Michigan law schools. Since its inception, the foundation has awarded more than \$500,000 to 246 female law students.

In 1992, the Black Women Lawyers Association of Michigan was founded by a group of African-American women from the metro Detroit area who wanted to focus on women's issues, increase black female representation in the judiciary and in public offices, and take a proactive stance on political issues. The organization focuses on the professional advancement of female lawyers and the promotion of women's rights.

#### 1871

Sarah Killgore Wertman is the first woman to graduate from the University of Michigan Law School and become licensed as an attorney in Michigan

#### 1878

Bessie Eaglesfield is the first woman to practice law in Grand Rapids

#### 1888

Martha Strickland Clark is the first woman to argue before the Michigan Supreme Court

#### 1899

The Michigan Supreme Court removes Ogemaw County Prosecuting Attorney Merrie H. Abbott from office because of her sex



In this theme issue of the *Michigan Bar Journal*, we look back on the history of WLAM and its members, review significant legal cases that have affected women's rights in the employment sector, and look forward to what the future holds for gender equality in the legal profession.

For more information about WLAM, visit https://www. womenlawyers.org. ■



Donna M. MacKenzie currently serves as the 100th president of the Women Lawyers Association of Michigan. She is also a shareholder at Olsman MacKenzie & Wallace with three locations in Michigan. She devotes a majority of her practice to representing individuals injured as a result of neglect and abuse in nursing homes, assisted living facilities, and adult

foster care homes, as well as medical malpractice.

#### 1919

The first all-woman Michigan jury deliberates on a civil case in Detroit

Congress passes the Nineteenth Amendment granting women the right to vote Women Lawyers Association of Michigan (WLAM) is formed

Ella C. Eggleston is appointed Michigan's first female probate judge

### **WLAM Past Presidents**

Julie A. Gafkay 2017–2018 Suzanne Sukkar 2016–2017 Kristen Pursley 2015–2016 Michele Rivas 2014–2015 Marla Linderman 2013-2014 Julie Wagner 2012-2013 Hon. Angela Sherigan 2011–2012 Lysa Postula-Stein 2010–2011 Kim Winokur 2009–2010 Ann Erickson Gault 2008–2009 Kristin Arnett 2007–2008 Kathleen M. Allen 2006–2007 Ann L. Routt 2005-2006 Lee A. Somerville 2004–2005 Hon. Lisa Sullivan 2003–2004 Hon. Cylenthia LaToye Miller 2002-2003 Laura M. Canfield 2001–2002 Lauren M. Tomayko 2000–2001 Margaret A. Costello 1999-2000 Barbara S. Weintraub Kimmel 1998–1999 Laura M. Slenzak Vogel 1997–1998 Kimberly M. Cahill\* 1996–1997 Leslie Myles-Sanders 1995–1996 Elizabeth K. Brandsdorfer 1994–1995 Suellyn Scarnecchia 1993–1994 Paula M. Talarico 1992–1993 Janet E. Lanyon 1991–1992 Lisa A. Godfrey 1990–1991 Dawn Van Hoek 1989–1990 Kathleen Leavey-Kageff 1988–1989 Hon. Marilyn Kelly 1987–1988 Charlene M. Snow 1986-1987 Deborah L. Miela 1985–1986 Linda L. Bruin 1984–1985 Mary M. Fowlie 1983-1984 Chrysanthe A. Kotsis 1982–1983 Karen Colby Weiner 1981–1982 Rosemary K. Wolock 1980–1981 Elaine Grand Stulberg 1979-1980 Beverly J. Clark\* 1978-1979 Julia Donovan Darlow 1977–1978 Hon. Marianne O. Battani 1976–1977 ludith D. Doran\* 1975–1976 Hon. Clarice Jobes Williams 1974–1975

#### 1920

Regene Freund Cohane, a leading Michigan Jewish attorney, is licensed to practice law

Ada Eldredge becomes the Upper Peninsula's first female attorney

Hon. Theresa Doss 1973–1974 Sharon C. Ranucci\* 1972–1973 Hon. Gladys Y. Barsamian\* 1971–1972 Virginia C. Dare\* 1969–1971 Mary Ellen Fulton 1968-1969 Pearl D. Newcomb 1965-1966 Mary Jane Liddy 1964–1965 Claire E. Morrison 1963–1964 Virginia E. Hetmanski 1962–1963 Anne Alpern 1961-1962 Ardis A. Smith 1960–1961 Marjorie Jaros 1959–1960 Loretta J. Tata 1958–1959 Hon. Dorothy R. Comstock 1957–1958 Ruth Schugin 1956-1957 Esther A. Morden 1955-1956 Caryl Hathaway 1954–1955 Esther Pollick 1953-1954 Mary N. Kolis 1952–1953 Charlotte M. Sutton 1951–1952 Madeline C. Dinu 1950–1951 Gertrude E. Moder 1949-1950 Elizabeth L. Stack 1948–1949 Annette Thayer Means 1946–1947 E. Katherine Kilpatrick 1945–1946 Zaio A. Woodford 1944-1945 Regene Freund Cohane 1943–1944 Dorothy Benz Stark 1942-1943 Lula Bachman 1941—1942 Dorothy Hughitt 1940–1941 Lulu Seifert DeMay 1939-1940 Phoebe Munnecke 1938–1939 Mary H. Zimmerman 1937–1938 Evelyn A. Green 1935-1937 Hazel Moran\* 1933–1935 Hon. Lila M. Neuenfelt\* 1931-1933 Rachel Newcomb 1929–1931 Catherine Donovan 1927–1929 Anne Davidow\* 1924–1927 Henrietta Rosenthal 1921–1923 Theresa Doland Cornelius 1919-1921

\*Deceased

#### 1921

WLAM submits a petition to the Michigan legislature to protest capital punishment