# SBM 2018 Meetings

# **BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS**

June 8 . . . Grand Hotel, Mackinac Island
July 27 . . . . . . . . . Lansing
September 26 . . . . . . Amway Grand
Plaza Hotel, Grand Rapids

Unless indicated or notified otherwise, all meetings will begin at 9:30 a.m. and will be held at the State Bar of Michigan, Michael Franck Building, 306 Townsend Street, Lansing.

# REPRESENTATIVE ASSEMBLY

September 27 . . . . . . . . . DeVos Place, Grand Rapids

# SBM

# MONEY JUDGMENT INTEREST RATE

MCL 600.6013 governs how to calculate the interest on a money judgment in a Michigan state court. Interest is calculated at six-month intervals in January and July of each year, from when the complaint was filed, and is compounded annually.

For a complaint filed after December 31, 1986, the rate as of January 1, 2018 is 2.984 percent. This rate includes the statutory 1 percent.

But a different rule applies for a complaint filed after June 30, 2002 that is based on a written instrument with its own specified interest rate. The rate is the lesser of:

- (1) 13 percent a year, compounded annually; or
- (2) the specified rate, if it is fixed—or if it is variable, the variable rate when the complaint was filed if that rate was legal.

For past rates, see http://courts.mi.gov/Administration/SCAO/Resources/Documents/other/interest.pdf.

As the application of MCL 600.6013 varies depending on the circumstances, you should review the statute carefully.

# State Bar of Michigan

#### Board of Commissioners

Donald G. Rockwell, Flint, President Jennifer M. Grieco, Birmingham, President-Elect Dennis M. Barnes, Detroit, Vice President Robert J. Buchanan, Grand Rapids, Secretary Dana M. Warnez, Center Line, Treasurer Danielle Mason Anderson, Kalamazoo David C. Anderson, Southfield Joseph J. Baumann, Cadillac Aaron V. Burrell, Detroit Hon. Clinton Canady III, Lansing B. D. "Chris" Christenson III, Flint Richard L. Cunningham, Detroit Syedya F. Davidson, Clinton Township Shauna L. Dunnings, Lansing Andrew F. Fink III, Ann Arbor Robert C. Gardella, Brighton Edward L. Haroutunian, Bingham Farms Krista L. Haroutunian, Bingham Farms Kara R. Hart-Negich, Lansing James W. Heath, Detroit Michael S. Hohauser, Troy E. Thomas McCarthy Jr., Grand Rapids Joseph P. McGill, Livonia Hon. Maureen M. McGinnis, Troy Shenique A. Moss, Detroit Jules B. Olsman, Berkley Hon. David A. Perkins, Detroit Daniel D. Quick, Troy Victoria A. Radke, Escanaba Hon, Michael J. Riordan, Detroit Brian D. Shekell, Detroit Gregory L. Ulrich, Grosse Pointe Woods Erane C. Washington, Ann Arbor

American Bar Association 321 North Clark Street, Chicago, IL 60610 (312) 988-5000

#### Michigan Delegates

Dennis W. Archer, ABA Past President
Steven J. Cernak, Section of Antitrust Law
Pamela Chapman Enslen, Section of
Dispute Resolution
Jennifer M. Grieco, State Bar Delegate
W. Anthony Jenkins, ABA Board of Governors
Laura M. Kubit, State Bar Young Lawyers Division
Sheldon G. Larky, Oakland County

Bar Association Delegate
James W. Low, State Bar Delegate
Shenique A. Moss, ABA Young Lawyers Division
Harold D. Pope III, State Delegate
Wallace D. Riley, ABA Past President
Donald G. Rockwell, State Bar Delegate

Thomas C. Rombach, State Bar Delegate Reginald M. Turner, Goal III Minority Member-at-Large

Gregory L. Ulrich, State Bar Delegate Janet K. Welch, State Bar Delegate

## Representative Assembly Officers

Joseph P. McGill, Livonia, Chairperson Richard L. Cunningham, Detroit, Vice Chairperson Aaron V. Burrell, Detroit, Clerk

### Michigan State Bar Foundation Michael Franck Building, 306 Townsend Street Lansing, MI 48933-2012 (517) 346-6400

#### **Trustees**

Hon. Alfred M. Butzbaugh, President Edward H. Pappas, Vice President Lamont E. Buffington, Treasurer Stefani A. Carter, Secretary Thomas W. Cranmer Peter H. Ellsworth Julie I. Fershtman Hon. Elizabeth Pollard Hines Hon. William B. Murphy Jonathan E. Osgood H. Rhett Pinsky Michael L. Pitt Richard K. Rappleye Hon. Victoria A. Roberts Richard A. Soble Hon. Stephen J. Markman, Ex Officio Donald G. Rockwell, Ex Officio Jennifer M. Grieco, Ex Officio Hon. Bridget M. McCormack, Michigan Supreme Court Liaison Jennifer S. Bentley, Executive Director

## Attorney Grievance Commission Buhl Building, Ste. 1700 535 Griswold, Detroit, MI 48226 (313) 961-6585

Alan M. Gershel, Grievance Administrator

## Judicial Tenure Commission 3034 W. Grand Blvd., 8th Floor, Ste. 450 Cadillac Place Detroit, MI 48202 (313) 875-5110 Lynn A. Helland, Executive Director

& General Counsel

# Attorney Discipline Board

211 West Fort Steet, Ste. 1410 Detroit, MI 48226 (313) 963-5553

Mark A. Armitage, Executive Director & General Counsel