State Bar 2020 Election Results

SBM Board of Commissioners

Five attorneys—David C. Anderson, James W. Heath, Hon. David A. Perkins, Daniel D. Quick, and Mark A. Wisniewski—won contested seats in this year's Board of Commissioners elections. All will serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the 2023 Annual Meeting.

David C. Anderson and Daniel D. Quick were elected to serve District I, representing Oakland County. Anderson is a shareholder at Collins Einhorn Farrell in Southfield, dedicating his practice primarily to defending Michigan lawyers and law firms against personal liability claims. Quick is a trial lawyer with Dickinson Wright in Troy and national leader of the firm's commercial litigation practice.

James W. Heath, Hon. David A. Perkins, and Mark A. Wisniewski were elected to serve District H, representing Lenawee, Monroe, and Wayne counties. Heath serves as the city of Detroit's first inspector general, and in that role is responsible for rooting out waste, abuse, fraud, and corruption in city government. Judge Perkins serves on the Wayne County Probate Court. Wisniewski is the chairman and CEO of Kitch Drutchas Wagner Valitutti & Sherbrook.

Two attorneys won unopposed races in the State Bar Board of Commissioners. **Bernhardt (Chris) D. Christenson III** of Flint was elected to serve District B, representing Bay, Genesee, Huron, Lapeer, Midland, Saginaw, Sanilac, and Tuscola counties. He started his own firm, Christenson & Fiederlein, in Flint in 2006. **Robert A. Easterly** of Lansing was elected to serve District E, representing Barry, Clinton, Eaton, Gratiot, Ingham, Ionia, Livingston, Montcalm, and Shiawassee counties. He is a litigation attorney with Foster Swift Collins







James W. Heath



Hon. David A. Perkins



Daniel D. Quick



Mark A. Wisniewski



Bernhardt (Chris) D. Christenson III



Robert A. Easterly

& Smith, PC, with a focus on representing individuals in criminal matters and startup and small businesses in litigation and transactional matters.

The SBM Board of Commissioners provides oversight to the State Bar on finance, public policy, professional standards, and member services and communications.

SBM Representative Assembly

Matthew M. Aneese, Joshua I. Arn-koff, Colleen H. Burke, Patrick D. Crandell, Jennifer A. Cupples, Peter M. Grace, Melissa E. Graves, Olga Khessina, Michael A. Knoblock, Sheldon G. Larky, Tracey L. Lee, Brian D. O'Keefe, and Matthew J. Turchyn won contested races for terms on the Representative Assembly in Circuit 6, representing Oakland County.

Sandra K. Carlson, **Alena M. Clark**, and **Sean M. Siebigteroth** won contested races for terms on the Representative Assembly in Circuit 7, representing Genesee County.

Tanya A. Grillo and **Angela Medley** won contested races for terms on the Representative Assembly in Circuit 16, representing Macomb County.

Mark W. Jane, Elizabeth A. Kitchen-Troop, Marla A. Linderman, and John W. Reiser III won contested races for terms on the Representative Assembly in Circuit 22, representing Washtenaw County.

Bernard A. Jocuns won a contested race for a term on the Representative Assembly in Circuit 40, representing Lapeer County.

Twenty-six attorneys won unopposed races:

2nd Circuit—Berrien County

Amber D. Peters

Tarek M. Baydoun Christina B. Hines

Mark M. Koroi

Sean M. Myers

Stephen M. Taratuta

9th Circuit—Kalamazoo County

Donald L. Roberts

10th Circuit—Saginaw County

Jennifer A. Jones Randy L. Price

11th Circuit—Alger, Luce, Mackinac, and Schoolcraft Counties

Chad W. Peltier

13th Circuit—Antrim, Grand Traverse, and Leelanau Counties

Agnieszka Jury

15th Circuit—Branch County

William D. Renner II

17th Circuit—Kent County

Jason W. Johnson Jonathan J. Paasch Philip L. Strom

18th Circuit—Bay County

Amber L. Davis-Johnson

20th Circuit—Ottawa County

Paul F. Kraus

30th Circuit—Ingham County

Nicole A. Evans

37th Circuit—Calhoun County

Patrice O Lewis

42nd Circuit—Midland County

Christopher G. Komara

44th Circuit—Livingston County

David T. Bittner

45th Circuit—St. Joseph County

John L. Barnes

51st Circuit—Lake and Mason Counties

Tracie L. McCarn-Dinehart

54th Circuit—Tuscola County

Gregory H. Bringard

55th Circuit—Clare and Gladwin Counties

Thomas R. Evans

56th Circuit—Eaton County

Adam H. Strong

The 150-member Representative Assembly was created in 1972 to increase the proportion of members who actively participate in State Bar policy; it serves as the Bar's final policymaking body.

Judicial Tenure Commission

James W. Burdick of Bloomfield Hills won a contested election for a three-year term on the Judicial Tenure Commission that begins January 1, 2021, and expires on December 31, 2023.

The JTC is a constitutionally created body that promotes the integrity of the judicial process and preserves public confidence in the courts.

SBM Young Lawyers Section Executive Council

One attorney—**Choi T. Portis** of Detroit—won an uncontested election in District 1, representing Wayne and Macomb counties, for a two-year term expiring in 2022.

Michigan Bar Journal

Three attorneys—Jerome Crawford of Novi, Kristina A. Bilowus of Southfield, and Angela L. Baldwin of Rochester—won uncontested elections in District 2, representing Oakland County, for two-year terms expiring in 2022.

Two attorneys—Christopher B. Wickman of East Lansing and Dustin C. Kamerman of Okemos—won uncontested elections in District 3, representing all Michigan counties except for Wayne, Oakland, and Macomb, for two-year terms expiring in 2022.

The Young Lawyers Executive Council governs the members of the Young Lawyers Section, one of the State Bar's largest sections. The section provides education, information, and analysis about issues of concern through meetings, seminars, public service programs, and newsletters. The section has won numerous awards for its public service and educational programs.

2020 Annual Meeting Members of the Michigan State Bar Foundation

The 2020 Annual Meeting of the Members of the Michigan State Bar Foundation will be held at 2:30 p.m. on Wednesday, September 23. This meeting will be virtual. Contact the Michigan State Bar Foundation at msbf@msbf.org for the link and instructions on how to join the meeting.

At the meeting, Foundation members will elect trustees, receive a report on Foundation activities, and conduct other business consistent with the bylaws of the Foundation.

2020 Annual Business Meeting and Reception Fellows of the Michigan State Bar Foundation

The Annual Business Meeting and Reception of the Fellows of the Michigan State Bar Foundation (invitation only) will be held from 5:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. on Wednesday, September 23. This meeting and reception will be virtual. Contact the Michigan State Bar Foundation at msbf@msbf.org for the link and instructions on how to join the meeting.

At the business meeting, Fellows members will elect officers and receive a report on Foundation activities. During the reception, an awards presentation will occur.