State Bar 2021 Election Results

SBM Board of Commissioners

Five attorneys won contested seats in this year's Board of Commissioners elections. All will serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the September 2024 board meeting.

Sherriee L. Detzler was elected to serve District D, representing Macomb and St. Clair counties. Detzler is part of the AccessLex Institute team whose mission is empowering the next generation of lawyers.

Aaron V. Burrell was elected to serve District H, representing Lenawee, Monroe, and Wayne counties. Burrell is a member at Dickinson Wright who focuses his practice in the areas of complex commercial litigation, appellate law, labor and employment law, and minority business enterprises.

Hon. Kameshia D. Gant was elected to serve District I, representing Oakland County. She joins Lisa J. Hamameh and Thomas H. Howlett, who both won reelection bids. Gant serves as judge in the Sixth Judicial Circuit Court in Pontiac. Hamameh is a shareholder at Rosati, Schultz, Joppich & Amtsbuechler in Farmington Hills, where she practices municipal law, land use and zoning, and condominium and homeowners' association law. Howlett is a partner at The Googasian Firm in Bloomfield Hills, where he pursues legal malpractice, medical malpractice, wrongful death, catastrophic injury, and civil rights cases for individuals and families. Two attorneys won uncontested elections for the Board of Commissioners. Hon. Kristen D. Simmons of Lansing was elected to serve District E, representing Barry, Clinton, Eaton, Gratiot, Ingham, Ionia, Livingston, Montcalm, and Shiawassee counties. Simmons is a judge in the 54A District Court in Lansing. Hon. Erane C. Washington was reelected to serve Dis-







Sherriee L. Detzler

Aaron V. Burrell

Hon. Kameshia D. Gant



Lisa J. Hamameh



Thomas H. Howlett





Hon. Kristen D. Simmons Hon. Erane C. Washington

trict G, representing Jackson and Washtenaw counties. Washington is a judge in the 14B District Court in Ypsilanti.

The SBM Board of Commissioners provides oversight to the State Bar of Michigan on finance, public policy, professional standards, and member services and communications

Judicial Tenure Commission

Hon. Brian R. Sullivan of Detroit won an uncontested election to serve on the Judicial Tenure Commission for a three-year term that commences on Jan. 1, 2022, and expires on Dec. 31, 2024.

The JTC is a constitutionally created body that promotes the integrity of the judicial process and preserves public confidence in the courts.

SBM Representative Assembly

Fifty-two attorneys won uncontested races in the State Bar Representative Assembly.

3rd Circuit — Wayne County

Deborah K. Blair, Detroit Robin E. Dillard, Detroit Jennifer C. Douglas, Detroit Julia A. Gilbert, Detroit Elizabeth M. Johnson, Plymouth Daniel S. Korobkin, Detroit Dawn Lee-Cotton, Detroit Shanika A. Owens, Detroit Richard M. Soranno, Royal Oak Kimberley A. Ward, Detroit

4th Circuit — Jackson County

Andrew P. Kirkpatrick, Jackson

5th Circuit — Barry County

Steven G. Storrs, Hastings

6th Circuit — Oakland County

J. Matthew Catchick Jr., Southfield David J. Eagles, Farmington Hills J. Scot Garrison, Pontiac Dawn M. King, Southfield Michael A. Knoblock, Royal Oak Mathew Kobliska, Farmington Hills Steven L. Rotenberg, Bingham Farms Michael E. Sawicky, Farmington Hills James T. Weiner, Bingham Farms

7th Circuit — Genesee County

Alena M. Clark, Flint

8th Circuit — Ionia and Montcalm Counties

Christopher R. Hekman, Stanton

9th Circuit — Kalamazoo County

Reh Starks-Harling, Kalamazoo

14th Circuit — Muskegon County

Elise M. Elzinga, Muskegon Jennifer J. Roach, Muskegon

15th Circuit — Branch County

William D. Renner II, Coldwater

16th Circuit — Macomb County

Hon. Alyia M. Hakim, Roseville Laura Polizzi, Mt. Clemens

17th Circuit — Kent County

Joshua Z. Kosmerick, Grand Rapids Ashleigh K. Russett, Grand Rapids

21st Circuit — Isabella County

Anthony C. Putz, Mt. Pleasant

23rd Circuit — Alcona, Arenac, Iosco, and Oscoda Counties

Duane L. Hadley, Standish

25th Circuit — Marquette County

Karl A. Weber, Marquette

29th Circuit — Clinton and Gratiot Counties

Cassandra R. Green, St. Johns Sarah E. Huyser, Ithaca

30th Circuit — Ingham County

Yolanda M. Bennett, Lansing Mary A. Bowen, Lansing Kara R. Hart-Negrich, Lansing Jessica L. Zimbelman, Lansing

32nd Circuit — Gogebic and Ontonagon Counties

Rudolph F. Perhalla, Ironwood

33rd Circuit — Charlevoix County

Kevin G. Klevorn, Boyne City

34th Circuit — Ogemaw and Roscommon Counties

Troy B. Daniel, Roscommon

35th Circuit — Shiawassee County

Michael L. Herendeen, Ovid

37th Circuit — Calhoun County

Angela Easterday, Battle Creek

44th Circuit — Livingston County

Dennis L. Perkins, Howell

46th Circuit — Crawford, Kalkaska, and Otsego Counties

Courtney E. Cadotte, Gaylord

47th Circuit — Delta County

Lauren M. Wickman, Escanaba

50th Circuit — Chippewa County

Jason N. Rozencweig, Sault Ste. Marie

52nd Circuit — Huron County

Dallas Rooney, Bad Axe

53rd Circuit — Cheboygan and Presque Isle Counties

Melissa Goodrich, Cheboygan

55th Circuit — Clare and Gladwin Counties

Hon. Thomas R. Evans, Gladwin

The 150-member Representative Assembly was created in 1972 to increase the proportion of members who actively participate in State Bar policy.

SBM Young Lawyers Section Executive Council

Three attorneys — **Jerome Crawford** of Harrison Township, **Kirstina R. Magyari** of Detroit, and **Colemon L. Potts** of Detroit — won a contested election in District 1, representing Wayne and Macomb counties, for two-year terms expiring in 2023.

Aysha F. Allos of Oak Park and Daniel K. Keith of Troy won uncontested elections in District 2, representing Oakland County, for two-year terms expiring in 2023. Jacob G. Eccleston of Portage and Amy S. Krieg of Ann Arbor won uncontested elections in District 3, representing all Michigan counties except for Wayne, Oakland, and Macomb, for two-year terms expiring in 2023.

The Young Lawyers Executive Council governs the members of the Young Lawyers Section, one of the State Bar's largest sections. The section provides education, information, and analysis on issues of concern through meetings, seminars, public service programs, and newsletters. The section has won numerous awards for its public service and educational programs.

MEMBER ANNOUNCEMENTS

When your office has something to celebrate, let the Michigan legal community know about it with an announcement in the Bar Journal and michbar.org/newsandmoves for one month.

- Announce an office opening, relocation, or acquisition
- Welcome new hires or recognize a promotion
- Celebrate a firm award or anniversary
- Congratulate and thank a retiring colleague



Contact Stacy Ozanich for details 517-346-6315 | sozanich@michbar.org