State Bar of Michigan
home member area contact us

SBM general information

 print this page

for members
SBM general information

member directory

admissions, ethics, and

diversity & inclusion

justice initiatives

member services

practice management
   resource center

public policy resource

publications and

research and links

sections & committees

ethics for members
ethics developments
ethics opinions
TAON (trust accounts)

from the courts
opinion searching
virtual court

for the public
public resources
media resources

giving opportunities
a lawyer helps
access to justice

Representative Assembly Awards

RA Home | Current Issues & Proposals | Member Handbook | Archive of Meetings & Proposals | Awards

Michael Franck Award

    The Michael Franck Award is given annually to an attorney who has made an outstanding contribution to the improvement of the profession.

    Application Form: Apply online or complete the Word document

Unsung Hero Award

    The Unsung Hero Award is given annually to an attorney who has exhibited the highest standards of practice and commitment for the benefit of others.

    Application Form: Apply online or complete the Word document

Award Criteria

  • The recipient must be a member in good standing with the State Bar of Michigan.
  • The recipient's contribution may have been made during the past year or by virtue of cumulative effort or service.
  • The Representative Assembly's Nomination & Awards Committee makes the selection.


    Nominations should be addressed to:

      Attention: Anne M. Smith
      Representative Assembly Awards
      State Bar of Michigan
      306 Townsend St.
      Lansing, MI 48933-2012


    Michael Franck Award
    2014    Julie I. Fershtman
    2013    Martin P. Krohner (posthumously)
    2012    Hon. James H. Fisher
    2011    Clark C. Johnson
    2010    Sheldon J. Stark, John Van Bolt
    2009    Daniel F. Bonner
    2008    Justice Thomas Brennan
    2007    William P. Hampton; Allyn D. Kantor
    2006    Hon. William Leo Cahalan
    2005    Linda K. Rexer
    2004    E. Christopher Johnson Jr.; Dean Allen Robb
    2003    Justice Marilyn Kelly; Wallace D. Riley
    2002    Margaret J. Nichols; Norman D. Tucker
    2001    Dennis W. Archer
    2000    Hon. Gene Schnelz
    1999    George A. Googasian; Hon. Martin M. Doctoroff
    1998    Edmund M. Brady Jr.

    Unsung Hero Award
    2014    Susan F. Reed
    2013    James E. Brenner; Elizabeth A. Stafford
    2012    Judy B. Calton; Jeffrey S. Kopp
    2011    Karen Gullberg Cook; Mayra Lorenzana-Miles
    2010    Kevin Moody (posthumously)
    2009    Brian M. Barkey; Kelly K. Burris
    2008    Susan Spagnuolo Dal
    2007    Norris J. Thomas Jr.
    2006    Jay Kaplan
    2005    Leslie C. Curry
    2004    Henry Lukowiak



follow us
Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on LinkedIn Follow Us on Twitter Follow the SBM Blog


©Copyright 2015

website links
Contact Us
Site Map
Website Privacy Statement PDF
Staff Links

SBM on the Mapcontact information
State Bar of Michigan
306 Townsend St
Lansing, MI 48933-2012
Phone: (517) 346-6300
Toll Free: (800) 968-1442
Fax: (517) 482-6248