STATE BAR OF MICHIGAN 2010-2011 Annual Report

Article VI §6, Bylaws of the State Bar of Michigan

No later than May 1 of each year, the chair of each committee and subentity of the Bar, with the assistance of the staff liaison, shall report to the Executive Director on a form provided by the State Bar on the activities and accomplishments of the committee or subentity.

Committee Name: Standing Committee on Judicial Qualifications

Jurisdictional Statement:

Evaluate candidates for appointment to judicial vacancies and report its findings in confidence to the authority requesting its assistance.

The chief staff attorney of the Attorney Grievance Commission serves as reporter for this committee. The appointed members are limited to three two-year terms. Chairs of the committee may serve more than three two-year terms. This committee may have more than 15 members.

Co-Chairs (term expiration):

Kathleen L. Bogas (2011)

Bogas Koncius & Croson PC 31700 Telegraph Rd Ste 160 Bingham Farms, MI 48025-3404 Phone: (248) 502-5000

Fax: (248) 502-5001

e-mail: kbogas@kbogaslaw.com

Daniel T. Stepek (2012)

Daniel T. Stepek PO Box 46877 Mount Clemens, MI 48046-6877 Phone: (586) 228-7084

Fax: (586) 228-7094

e-mail: d.stepek@comcast.net

Robert B. Webster (2012)

Giarmarco Mullins & Horton PC 101 W Big Beaver Rd Fl 10 Troy, MI 48084-5253 Phone: (248) 882-6301

Fax: (248) 457-7001

e-mail: robweb101@gmail.com

Reporter:

Ruthann Stevens, Senior Associate Counsel Attorney Grievance Commission 243 W Congress St Ste 256 Detroit, MI 48226

Phone: (313) 961-6585 Fax: (313) 961-5819

Staff Liaisons:

Nkrumah Johnson-Wynn, Professional Standards Service Counsel State Bar of Michigan Michael Franck Building 306 Townsend St Lansing, MI 48933 Phone: (517) 346-6310

Fax: (517) 367-6433 nwynn@mail.michbar.org Patricia M. Peyton State Bar of Michigan Michael Franck Building 306 Townsend St Lansing, MI 48933 Phone: (517) 346-6346 Fax: (517) 346-6323

ppeyton@mail.michbar.org

Commissioner Liaisons (term expiration):

Hon. William B. Murphy (September 30, 2010)

Chief Judge

Michigan Court of Appeals

350 Ottawa Ave NW

Grand Rapids, MI 49503

Phone: (616) 456-7553

Fax: (616) 456-1105

e-mail: wmurphy@courts.mi.gov

Detroit, MI 48226 Phone: (313) 596-9854 Fax: (313) 596-9825

651 E Jefferson Ave

e-mail: mcostello@dykema.com

Committee Members (term expiration):

José T. Brown, Flint (2011)

Leanne Barnes Deuman, Sault Ste Marie (2011)

Eugenie B. Eardley, Cannonsburg (2011)

Kiffi Y. Ford, Lansing (2011)

Julie A. Gibson, Southfield (2011)

Susan A. Gillooly, Detroit (2011)

Nino E. Green, Escanaba (2011)

Dennis P. Grenkowicz, Alpena (2011)

Pamela R. Harwood, Troy (2012)

Diane Hutcherson, Detroit (2011)

William W. Jack, Jr., Grand Rapids (2011)

Michael S. Leib, Southfield (2012)

Christine Mason Soneral, Novi (2011)

Lambro Niforos, Grosse Pointe Woods (2011)

Margaret A. Costello (September 30, 2011)

University of Detroit Mercy School of Law

Gerald V. Padilla, Birmingham (2012)

Harold D. Pope, III, Southfield (2011)

Norman H. Pylman, Grand Rapids (2012)

Frank H. Reynolds, Lansing (2011)

Michael J. Riordan, Detroit (2011)

Robin D. Stephens, Ann Arbor (2012)

Gene Schnelz, Birmingham (2012)

Kenneth T. Watkins, Southfield (2011)

Linda M. Watson, Birmingham (2011)

Joseph M. Xuereb, Canton (2011)

Richard E Zuckerman, Detroit (2011)

Committee Meeting Schedule:

October 12, 2010

December 14, 2010

January 11, 2011

March 8, 2011

May 10, 2011

June 14, 2011

July 12, 2011

August 9, 2011

September 13, 2011

Resources Provided by the State Bar of Michigan in Support of Committee Work:

In support of the work of this Committee, the State Bar of Michigan provides a meeting room in the Michael Franck Building as well as lunch for the Committee members. Staff liaisons coordinate the interview schedule with the Governor's Office, submit the Committee's ratings for each candidate to the Governor's Office, and handle administrative tasks and other matters as necessary.

Committee Activities:

As requested by the Governor, the Judicial Qualifications Committee interviews, evaluates and rates candidates for appointment to judicial vacancies. The work of the Committee members, the State Bar staff liaisons, and the Reporter (which includes preparation for interviews, candidate interviews, deliberations, and the ratings reported by the State Bar directly to the Governor's Office) is confidential.

Prior to the interview, one Committee member contacts lawyers in the community to obtain background information regarding the candidate. The Reporter, a staff attorney with the Attorney Grievance Commission, presents grievances and disciplinary history, if any, and information obtained from local judges. All interview sources are kept confidential.

A representative from the Governor's Office and the State Bar staff liaisons are also present during the interview. The Committee meets on the second Tuesday of the month and/or as needed.

The Committee met eight times from May 2010 to April 2011 to interview 104 candidates for the following vacancies.

Interview Date	Court	Number of Candidates Interviewed	Judicial Vacancy	Appointed
6/8/10	36 th District	6	Hon. C. Lorene Royster	William C. McConico
7/13/10	3 rd Circuit	12	Hon. J. William Callahan	Lawrence S. Talon
	Monroe Co Probate	11	Hon. Pamela A. Moskwa	Frank L. Arnold
7/19/10	43rd District	5	Hon. Robert J. Turner	Charles G. Goedert
	6 th Circuit	19	Hon. Mark A. Goldsmith	Hon. Phyllis C. McMillen
8/26/10	51 st District	10	Hon. Phyllis C. McMillen	Jodine R. Debbrecht
	Supreme Court	1	Justice Elizabeth A. Weaver	Hon. Alton T. Davis
10/12/10	Court of Appeals 4D	17	Hon. Alton T. Davis	Hon. Amy R. Krause
12/14/10	Wayne Co Probate	4	Hon. David J. Szymanski	Terrance A. Keith
	Tuscola Co Probate	3	Hon. W. Wallace Kent, Jr.	Amanda L. Roggenbuck
	54A District	3	Hon. Amy R. Krause	Hugh B. Clarke, Jr.
1/11/11	Supreme Court	1	Justice Maura D. Corrigan	Hon. Brian K. Zahra
3/8/11	16 th Circuit	14	Hon. Donald Miller	James M. Biernat, Jr.