View this e-mail as a webpage

Health Care Law Section of the State Bar of Michigan

October 2008

Section LinksSection Links

HCLS Website
Council Information
Writing Competition
Health Law Index
Section Listservs
Seminar Materials

Bar LinksBar Links

SBM Website
Calendar of Events
Public Policy



Chair’s Letter from Ann Hollenbeck:
Our new Section year officially began on September 23 at our Annual Meeting. It was a wonderful half-day program in a beautiful setting with well-versed speakers. Many thanks to the Annual Meeting Committee (Lisa Panah, Joanne Lax, Beth Derwin, Joy Berent, and Tom Trenta) for its hard work.

At our Business Meeting, we elected the following persons to serve on the Council:

Second Term (first term expiring):

Amy Barkholz
Beth Derwin
Rob Iwrey
Joanne Lax
Carol Tarnowsky

First Term (new Council members):

John Anderson
Joan Lowes

The Council subsequently elected the following officers:

Chair-Elect: Joanne Lax
Treasurer: Margaret Marchak
Secretary: Marta Hoffman

In addition, we announced the Substantive Law Committee and Substantive Law Subcommittee Positions as follows:

SLC Chair: Joan Lowes
SLC Vice-Chair: Tom McGraw
Medical Legal SLS: Trish Shabath-Chair, Steve Bender, Patrick Haddad
Payors SLS: Patrick Shannon-Chair, Christine Pfeiifer, Chris Cobb
Providers SLS: Jennifer Benedict-Chair, Chris Shride, Margaret Chamberlain
Technology: Mark Kopson-Chair, John Hazewinkel, Deborah Williamson
Legislative Update: Laura Napiewocki-Chair, Cara Nieboer

Lastly, as you know, we have established a new Publications Committee:

John Anderson—Co-Chair
Donna O’Connor—Co-Chair
James Heath
Monica Navarro
Greg Nowakowski
Susan Patton
Billie Lightvoet Ward

Please join me in welcoming these volunteers to our Section positions. I thank them in advance for their efforts. And once again, please join me in thanking Lisa Panah, our outgoing Section Chair, for a great year.

Law Student Writing Competition
At the Annual Meeting, we announced the winners of our Law Student Writing Competition. Congratulations to:

First place: Dr. Harold Gallick
Second place: Lindsey Hoffman

The competition’s topic followed that of our Annual Meeting regarding ethical, legal, and business implications of voluntarily disclosing medical errors to patients. See the winners’ papers.


Other EventsSection Events

  • October 14 Teleconference on The New Stark Regulations: Content and CMS Commentary from noon to 1:30 p.m.

Section EventsOther Events

  • Sept.-May ICLE's Business Boot Camp I