State Bar of Michigan
home member area contact us


 print this page

for members
SBM general information

member directory

admissions, ethics, and

diversity & inclusion

justice initiatives

member services

practice management
   resource center

public policy resource

publications and

research and links

sections & committees

ethics for members
ethics developments
ethics opinions
TAON (trust accounts)

from the courts
opinion searching
virtual court

for the public
public resources
media resources

giving opportunities
a lawyer helps
access to justice

SBM Officers Elected for 2011-2012


Julie I. Fershtman, of Farmington Hills, has been elected president of the State Bar of Michigan for the 2011-2012 bar year. She will be sworn in as president of the more than 41,000-member organization at a luncheon on Thursday, Sept.15, during the SBM Annual Meeting in Dearborn.

Also serving as officers for 2011-2012 will be President-elect Bruce A. Courtade of Grand Rapids, Vice President Brian D. Einhorn of Southfield, Secretary Thomas C. Rombach of New Baltimore, and Treasurer Lori A. Buiteweg of Ann Arbor.

Julie Fershtman is a shareholder at Foster Swift Collins and Smith, PC and concentrates her practice in all aspects of commercial litigation, insurance defense, insurance coverage, sporting liability, and equine law. Bruce Courtade is with Rhoades McKee in Grand Rapids, and practices construction law, commercial litigation, general business counseling, and criminal defense. Brian Einhorn practices with Collins, Einhorn, Farrell & Ulanoff, PC in Southfield and concentrates on professional liability litigation, products liability litigation, construction defect defense, and insurance coverage dispute litigation. Tom Rombach is a solo practitioner who focuses on criminal and civil litigation, personal injury, and municipal law. Lori Buiteweg is a partner in Nichols, Sacks, Slank, Sendelbach, and Buiteweg, PC and focuses on family law.

Stephen J. Gobbo, of Lansing, will be the 2011-2012 chair of the Representative Assembly. The RA's vice-chair is Dana M. Warnez of Centerline. The Representative Assembly will elect a new clerk at its meeting in September.

SBM President
Julie I. Fershtman
SBM President-Elect
Bruce A. Courtade
SBM Vice-President
Brian D. Einhorn
SBM Secretary
Thomas C. Rombach
SBM Treasurer
Lori A. Buiteweg
SBM Representative Assembly Chair
Stephen J. Gobbo
SBM Rep. Assembly Vice-Chair
Dana M. Warnez




follow us
Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on LinkedIn Follow Us on Twitter Follow the SBM Blog


©Copyright 2015

website links
Contact Us
Site Map
Website Privacy Statement PDF
Staff Links

SBM on the Mapcontact information
State Bar of Michigan
306 Townsend St
Lansing, MI 48933-2012
Phone: (517) 346-6300
Toll Free: (800) 968-1442
Fax: (517) 482-6248