State Bar of Michigan
home member area contact us

member services

 print this page

for members
SBM general information

member directory

admissions, ethics, and

diversity & inclusion

justice initiatives

member services

practice management
   resource center

public policy resource

publications and

research and links

sections & committees

ethics for members
ethics developments
ethics opinions
TAON (trust accounts)

from the courts
opinion searching
virtual court

for the public
public resources
media resources

giving opportunities
a lawyer helps
access to justice

Events and Awards

Events | Awards

2014 Awards Ceremony Acceptance Speeches (Video)

2015 Awards Nomination Book (PDF)

State Bar Awards

  • McCree Awards: Presented to broadcast and print media journalists who help to foster greater public understanding of the inherent values of our legal and judicial system through their published materials. | Entry Form PDF

  • Roberts P. Hudson Award: Presented periodically to commend one or more lawyers for their unselfish rendering of outstanding and unique service to and on behalf of the State Bar of Michigan, the legal profession, and public. [ apply online ] Entry deadline April 17, 2015.

  • Frank J. Kelley Distinguished Public Service Award: Recognizes extraordinary governmental service by a member of the State Bar of Michigan. [ apply online ] Entry deadline April 17, 2015.

  • Champion of Justice Award: Given to practicing lawyers and judges of integrity and adherence to the highest principles and traditions of the legal profession, superior professional competence, and an extraordinary professional accomplishment that benefits the nation, the state, or the local community in which the lawyer or judge lives. [ apply online ] Entry deadline April 17, 2015.

  • John W. Cummiskey Pro Bono Award: Recognizes a Michigan lawyer who has made a significant pro bono contribution. [ apply online ] Entry deadline April 17, 2015.

  • Kimberly M. Cahill Bar Leadership Award: Recognizes a local or affinity bar association, program, or leader for excellence in promoting the ideal of professionalism or equal justice for all, or in responding to a compelling legal need within the community. [ apply online ] Entry deadline April 17, 2015.

  • John W. Reed Michigan Lawyer Legacy Award: Given periodically to an educator from a Michigan law school whose influence on lawyers has elevated the quality of legal practice in our state. [ apply online ] Entry deadline April 17, 2015.

  • Liberty Bell Award: Given by local bar associations in conjunction with Law Day to honor outstanding citizens within the local community. The SBM Awards Committee selects the statewide Liberty Bell Award winner from local bar winners submitted to the State Bar. Entry deadline May 11, 2015.

  • Michael Franck Award: Given by the State Bar of Michigan Representative Assembly to an attorney who has made an outstanding contribution to the improvement of the profession. [ apply online ] Entry deadline March 13, 2015.

  • Unsung Hero Award: Given by the State Bar of Michigan Representative Assembly to a lawyer who has exhibited the highest standards of practice and commitment for the benefit of others. [ apply online ] Entry deadline March 13, 2015.

State Bar Annual Events

    Law Day—In 1958, President Dwight D. Eisenhower designated May 1 as Law Day. This day is an opportunity to strengthen our great American heritage of liberty, justice, and equality under the law. The State Bar of Michigan joins various local bars, businesses, schools, and other organizations in conducting programs associated with improving the public's understanding of our justice system. View Law Day Creative Contest

    Bar Leadership Forum

    • June 6-7, 2014, at the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island

    Upper Michigan Legal Institute

    • June 6-7, 2014, at the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island

    Michigan Legal Milestone recognizes significant legal cases and personalities in the state's history, and places bronze plaques at featured sites to document the historical significance. The 39th Michigan Legal Milestone honors Governor G. Mennen Williams signing the Smith-VanderWerp bill into law, which accepted Ferris Institute, a private college founded in 1884, as a gift to be continued as a state institution.

    Constitution Day is celebrated annually on September 17.

    Annual Meeting and Solo Small Firm Institute

    • Save The Date October 7-9, 2015, Suburban Collection Showplace, Novi
      More Information PDF



follow us
Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on LinkedIn Follow Us on Twitter Follow the SBM Blog


©Copyright 2015

website links
Contact Us
Site Map
Website Privacy Statement PDF
Staff Links

SBM on the Mapcontact information
State Bar of Michigan
306 Townsend St
Lansing, MI 48933-2012
Phone: (517) 346-6300
Toll Free: (800) 968-1442
Fax: (517) 482-6248