State Bar of Michigan
home member area contact us

member services

 print this page

for members
SBM general information

member directory

admissions, ethics, and

diversity & inclusion

justice initiatives

member services

practice management
   resource center

public policy resource

publications and

research and links

sections & committees

ethics for members
ethics developments
ethics opinions
TAON (trust accounts)

from the courts
opinion searching
virtual court

for the public
public resources
media resources

giving opportunities
a lawyer helps
access to justice

Roberts P. Hudson Award

This award is presented periodically to commend one or more lawyers for their unselfish rendering of outstanding and unique service to and on behalf of the State Bar of Michigan, the legal profession, and public. It signifies unusual and extraordinary help and assistance to the Bar and the legal profession, which has been given generously, ungrudgingly, and in a spirit of self-sacrifice. It is awarded to that member of the State Bar of Michigan who best exemplifies that which brings honor, esteem, and respect to the legal profession. The Hudson Award is considered the highest award conferred by the State Bar.

Application Form: apply online or complete the Word document

Previous Winners
2014 Francine Cullari; Carl E. Ver Beek
2013 Kurt E. Schnelz
2012 Frederick M. Baker Jr.
2011 James K. Robinson (posthumously)
2010 James C. Cotant
2009 No award
2008 Kimberly M. Cahill (posthumously); Kathleen McCree Lewis (posthumously)
2007 No award
2006 Thomas G. Plunkett
2005 Stephen C. Bransdorfer; Hon. Cynthia D. Stephens
2004 No award
2003 George T. Roumell
2002 No award
2001 Alfred M. Butzbaugh; Hon. Victoria A. Roberts
2000 No award
1999 John W. "Jack" Martin
1998 Jon R. Muth
1997 Wallace D. Riley; Raymond H. Dresser Jr.
1996 Robert S. McKenzie
1995 George Googasian
1994 Dennis Archer; Hon. Gene Schnelz
1993 Michael Franck; Robert Webster
1992 No award
1991 Hon. Hilda Gage; John W. Cummiskey
1990 Julia Darlow
1989 John W. Reed
1988 James A. Tuck (posthumously)
1987 Robert J. Wilson
1986 H. Rollin Allen
1985 George Bushnell; John K. Parker
1984 No award
1983 Leo Farhat; William Ellman; Laurence Lindemer; William Reamon; and Angus Goetz
1982 No award
1981 No award
1980 No award
1979 George Bushnell; Austin Hirschhorn


follow us
Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on LinkedIn Follow Us on Twitter Follow the SBM Blog


©Copyright 2015

website links
Contact Us
Site Map
Website Privacy Statement PDF
Staff Links

SBM on the Mapcontact information
State Bar of Michigan
306 Townsend St
Lansing, MI 48933-2012
Phone: (517) 346-6300
Toll Free: (800) 968-1442
Fax: (517) 482-6248