Skip navigation sidebar and go to main content

Return to Resource Directory home

Information is current as of January 2021.

Please email us if you represent an organization and wish to provide updated information.

General Information

Lawyer Associations (PDF) (opens in new window)

Michigan Law Schools

Institute of Continuing Legal Education (ICLE)

Lawyer Discipline Summary

Case-Type Codes (PDF) (opens in new window)

Foreign Counselors (opens in new window)

Legal Programs by County (opens in new window)

Veteran / Military Legal Assistance (opens in new window)

Michigan Lawyer Distribution

Litigator's List

Sections of the State Bar (links to new window)

Federal Courts & Agencies

Federal Courts

Federal Judicial Districts of Michigan

Other Federal Agencies

Michigan Courts

Michigan Supreme Court

State Court Administration Office

Michigan Court of Appeals

Michigan Court of Claims

Michigan Circuit, Probate, Municipal Courts

Tribal Courts

About Tribal Courts

Bay Mills Indian Community

Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa and Chippewa Indians

Hannahville Indian Community

Keweenaw Bay Indian Community

Lac Vieux Desert Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians

Little River Band of Ottawa Indians

Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians

Match-E-Be-Nash-She-Wish Band of Pottawatomi (Gun Lake Tribe)

Nottawaseppi Huron Band of Potawatomi Indians

Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians

Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe

Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians

Michigan Government

State Offices & Departments

State Boards, Commissions, and Autonomous Agencies

Michigan Legislature

County Officials

Township Attorneys

City / Village Attorneys

Resource Directory: Hannahville Indian Community

Tribal Office Address:

Hannahville Indian Community, N14911 Hannahville B-1 Rd, Wilson, MI 49896, 906-723-2696, FAX: 906-466-7377

Tribal Organization:

  • IRA government formed June 27, 1936 pursuant to 48 Stat. 981
  • Constitution enacted July 23, 1936
  • Number of Council members — 12
  • Tribal Council term of office — 3 years
  • Number of Tribal members — 989

Judicial Organization:

The Tribal Court judge is appointed by the Tribal Council for a three-year term. The Appellate Court consists of five members selected from the Tribal Council who are not related to any of the parties.

Current Personnel:

  • Associate Judges: Anne B. McNamara; Russell W. Hall
  • Court Clerk: Janice Halverson
  • Tribal Prosecutor: Robert LeMire
  • Tribal Defender: Michael Manning
  • Magistrate/Admnr.: Audrey Gamez
  • Dep. Magistrate: Henry Williams Sr.
  • Probation Officer/Truancy Officer: Kelly Arnold
  • Tribal Youth Worker: Dyan Engel

Territorial Jurisdiction:

The Tribal Court exercises jurisdiction within the reservation boundaries of the Hannahville Indian Community, which encompasses 5,832 acres in Delta and Menominee counties, MI.

Requirements for Practicing Before Tribal Court:

Currently, any person may practice before the Tribal Court upon request.

Court Facilities:

Court is located in the Administration Bldg. A law library containing Michigan, tribal, and federal volumes is housed in the courtroom.

Intergovernmental Agreements:

Tribal government has enacted court rules granting recognition to foreign judgments.