Alternative Dispute Resolution Section

At its September Annual Meeting, the section presented the Nancy S. Klein Award (honoring the late director of Oakland County's community mediation program) to the Peer Mediation Partnership of Lansing. This program, directed by Professor Nancy Wonch of the Cooley Law School and assisted by Anne Smiley, annually trains and uses about 15 volunteer Cooley law students, who then take mediation training to students in the Lansing schools to help them learn conflict management skills.

Appellate Practice Section

The following were elected to the 2006– 2007 section council: as officers, Linda Garbarino (chair), Paul Bernard (chair-elect), John Bursch (treasurer), and Barbara Goldman (secretary); as council members, Janet Boes, Megan Cavanagh, Judith Curtis, Phillip DeRosier, Timothy Diemer, Terence Flanagan, Marcia Howe, Ronald Lederman, Anica Letica, Gerald Posner, Stephen Rhodes, Rosalind Rochkind, Mary Massaron Ross, Liisa Speaker, Michael Updike, and Jill Wheaton; as ex-officio (voting) members, Deborah Hebert, J. Mark Cooney, and Victor Valenti. For section information, contact John Bursch at (616) 752-2474.

Business Law Section

The section's Small Business Forum hosted a roundtable discussion at the Birmingham Community House on September 13 for business lawyers, advisors, and owners regarding raising capital for small businesses. At the section's Annual Meeting, held September 26 at the Hotel Baronette in Novi, the Stephen H. Schulman Outstanding Business Lawyer Award was presented to recipients James Bruno, Hugh Makens, Cyril Moscow, and Martin Oetting. Contact an officer (http:// www.michbar.org/business/leaders.cfm) to become involved in section activities.

International Law Section

At its September 14 Annual Meeting in Ypsilanti, the section elected new officers: Lois Bingham, chair; Peter Swiecicki, chairelect; Frederick Frank, secretary; and Nicholas Stasevich, treasurer. Andrew Doornaerdt, Cameron DeLong, Richard Goetz, and Eve Lerman were elected to the section council. Following the business meeting, Lois Bingham moderated a program on "Going Global: Manufacturing Operations in Mexico and Other Key Latin American Countries."

Legal Assistants Section

The election of officers and council members was held at the section's Annual Meeting on September 15. Officers elected were Denise E. Gau, chairperson, and Cheryl J. Nodarse, CLA, chair-elect. Council members elected were Brian P. English and Tami R. Salzbrenner. Vicki Voisin, CLAS, will serve as chair-ex-officio.

Real Property Law Section

The 2007 Winter Conference, "Resort Communities and Second Homes: Following Your Clients 'Up North' and 'Down South,'" will be held March 8–10 at Disney's Yacht & Beach Club Resort, Walt Disney World® Lake Buena Vista, Florida. Gregory J. Gamalski of Cox, Hodgman & Giarmarco, PC and Ronn S. Nadis of Taubman, Nadis & Neuman, PC have planned a fantastic program. For more information on all section activities, visit http://www.michbar.org/realproperty/ or call Arlene Rubinstein at (248) 644-7378.

Taxation Section

The Taxation Section Council elected new officers on September 21: Aaron Sherbin, chairperson; Jay Kennedy, vice chairperson; Jess Bahs, treasurer; and Ron Charlebois, secretary. With the repeal of the single business tax, the State and Local Committee is very active in the process of considering alternative taxes. The first After Hours Tax Seminar, "Avoiding Property Tax Traps in Michigan," will be held Tuesday, October 24 at the MSU Center in Troy. ◆