Proposed Section Bylaw Amendments

Prisons and Corrections Section of the State Bar of Michigan

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that in accordance with Article 8 of the bylaws of the Prisons and Corrections Section of the State Bar of Michigan, the following proposed amendments are being timely submitted by written motion of five (5) voting members of the Council for consideration and recommendation of the Council and for timely communication to the Section prior to the annual meeting at which they are to be voted upon.

(For the reader's quick and easy reference, the motion is presented in "strike/cap format": proposed deletions in strike format; proposed additions in capital letters.)

PROPOSED BYLAW AMENDMENT NUMBER 2007-1

Purpose: To make a technical correction to the Section's bylaws by clarifying that the immediate past chairperson of the Section is an ex officio member of the Council and not a voting member unless s/he is also serving a duly elected term of office as an elected member.

SECTION 3.1. COUNCIL. The Section shall be governed by its council. The voting membership of the council is to be composed of 12 elected members AND 3 associate members. and the imme-

diate past chairperson of the Section. THE IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIRPERSON OF THE SECTION SHALL SERVE AS AN EX OFFI-CIO NONVOTING MEMBER OF THE COUNCIL, UNLESS S/HE IS SERVING A DULY ELECTED TERM AS A REGULAR OR ASSOCI-ATE MEMBER.

SECTION 3.2. EX OFFICIO COUNCIL MEMBERS. The Director of the Department of Corrections, the President of the Michigan Sheriffs' Association, or their designees, and a representative of the Federal Bureau of Prisons, are ex officio nonvoting members of the council AND, AS DETERMINED BY THE COUNCIL, THE HEAD OF A THIRD DEPARTMENT, ASSOCIATION OR AGENCY, OR THEIR DESIGNEES, AND THE IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIRPER-SON OF THE SECTION, IN ACCORDANCE WITH SECTION 3.1, are ex officio nonvoting members of the council.

PROPOSED BYLAW AMENDMENT NUMBER 2007-2

Purpose: To allow associate members to occupy the offices of Secretary and Treasurer.

SECTION 3.3. OFFICERS The officers of the Section shall be chairperson, chairperson elect, secretary and treasurer. All officers THE CHAIRPERSON AND CHAIRPERSON ELECT must be regular members of the Section. All terms shall be for one year.