State Bar of Michigan Officers Elected for 2008–2009

Edward H. Pappas of Bloomfield Hills has been elected president of the State Bar of Michigan for the 2008–2009 bar year. He will be sworn in as leader of the more than 38,000-member organization at a luncheon on Thursday, September 18, during the State Bar Annual Meeting in Dearborn.



Edward H. Pappas



Charles R. Toy



W. Anthony Jenkins



Julie I. Fershtman



Bruce A. Courtade



Katherine Kakish



Elizabeth Moehle Johnson

Also serving as officers for 2008–2009 will be President-Elect Charles R. Toy of Lansing, Vice President W. Anthony Jenkins of Detroit, Secretary Julie I. Fershtman of Farmington Hills, and Treasurer Bruce A. Courtade of Grand Rapids. Pappas is a partner and client service director at Dickinson Wright PLLC in Bloomfield Hills. Toy practices environmental, commercial, and criminal litigation with Farhat and Story, PC, in Lansing. Jenkins is a partner at Dickinson Wright PLLC and represents clients in the automotive, real estate, and retail industries. Fershtman is currently of counsel to Zausmer, Kaufman, August, Caldwell & Tayler, PC, where her practice focuses primarily on business litigation and insurance law. Courtade practices construction law at Rhoades McKee PC in Grand Rapids.

The Representative Assembly will elect a new clerk at its meeting in September. New officers for 2008–2009 will be Chairperson Katherine Kakish of Detroit and Vice Chairperson Elizabeth Moehle Johnson.