## 12 SBM Awards

## Nominations Open for 2009 Major State Bar Awards; New Cahill Bar Leadership Award Established \_

ominations are now open for major State Bar of Michigan awards that will be presented at the September 2009 Annual Meeting in Dearborn. New this year is the **Kimberly M. Cahill Bar Leadership Award**, established in memory of the 2006–2007 SBM president who passed away in January last year. This award will be presented to a recognized local or affinity bar association, program, or leader for excellence in promoting the ideal of professionalism or equal justice for all, or in responding to a compelling legal need within the community during the past year or on an ongoing basis.

Any member of the State Bar can propose candidates for SBM awards. The **Roberts P. Hudson Award** goes to a person whose career has exemplified the highest ideals of the profession. This award is presented periodically to commend one or more lawyers for their unselfish rendering of outstanding and unique service to and on behalf of the State Bar, given generously, ungrudgingly, and in a spirit of self-sacrifice. It is awarded to that member of the State Bar of Michigan who best exemplifies that which brings honor, esteem, and respect to the legal profession. The Hudson Award is the highest award conferred by the Bar.

The **Frank J. Kelley Distinguished Public Service Award** recognizes extraordinary governmental service by a Michigan attorney holding elected or appointive office. Created by the Board of Commissioners in 1998, it was first awarded to Frank J. Kelley for his record-setting tenure as Michigan's chief lawyer.

The **Champion of Justice Award** is given for extraordinary individual accomplishments or for devotion to a cause. Not more than five awards are given each year to practicing lawyers and judges who have made a significant contribution to their community, state, or nation.

The **John W. Cummiskey Pro Bono Award**, named after a Grand Rapids attorney, recognizes a member of the State Bar who excels in commitment to pro bono issues. This award carries with it a cash stipend to be donated to the charity of the recipient's choice.

All SBM award nominations are due on **Friday**, **April 3** at 5 p.m.

The **Liberty Bell Award** recipient is selected from nominations made by local and special-purpose bar associations. The award is presented to a non-lawyer who has made a significant contribution to the justice system. The deadline for this award is **Monday, May 4.** 

An Awards Committee, co-chaired by State Bar President-Elect Charles Toy and attorney Thomas Cranmer, reviews nominations for the Roberts P. Hudson, Champion of Justice, Frank J. Kelley Distinguished Public Service, Cahill, and Liberty Bell awards. The State Bar Pro Bono Initiative Committee reviews nominations for the Cummiskey Pro Bono award. The committee's recommendations are then voted on by the full Board of Commissioners at its June meeting.

Last year's non-winner nominations will automatically carry over for consideration this year. Nominations should include sufficient details about the accomplishments of the nominee to allow the committees to make a judgment. Application forms may be downloaded from www.michbar.org. Click on Media Resources, then Events and Awards.

Nominations may also be submitted online at www.michbar.org/programs/eventsawards.cfm or by facsimile or mail to Ms. Naseem Stecker, State Bar of Michigan, 306 Townsend St., Lansing, MI 48933 or to nstecker@mail.michbar.org. For more information, call (517) 367-6428 or (800) 968-1442, facsimile (517) 482-6248. Cummiskey Award nominations should be directed to Gregory Conyers at (517) 346-6358 or gconyers@mail.michbar.org.

## SBM NOMINATIONS OPEN FOR 2009 REPRESENTATIVE ASSEMBLY AWARDS

Nominations are now open for two State Bar of Michigan Representative Assembly awards. The **Michael Franck Award** is given annually to an attorney who has made an outstanding contribution to the improvement of the legal profession. The **Unsung Hero Award** will be presented to a lawyer who has exhibited the highest standards of practice and commitment for the benefit of others.

Recipients of both awards must be members in good standing with the State Bar of Michigan. The recipient's contribution may have been made during the past year or by virtue of cumulative effort or service.

The Representative Assembly, chaired by Katherine Kakish, is the final policymaking body of the State Bar. The Assembly's Nominating and Awards Committee will review the applications and make a recommendation to the Representative Assembly. Nominations should include sufficient details about the nominee's accomplishments.

The deadline for all nominations is **Friday, March 13.** For more information or to apply online, visit www. michbar.org/programs/eventsawards. cfm. Send nominations to:

Ms. Anne M. Smith Representative Assembly Awards State Bar of Michigan 306 Townsend Street Lansing MI 48933-2012

For more information, call (517) 346-6374 or (800) 968-1442 ext. 6374.