# State Bar 2009 Election Results

# **SBM Board of Commissioners**

Attorneys Lawrence P. Nolan of Eaton Rapids and Michael J. Riordan of Detroit won contested seats in this year's State Bar of Michigan Board of Commissioners elections. They will serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the Annual Meeting in 2012. The State Bar Board of Commissioners provides oversight to the various operations of the Bar, such as finance, public policy, and member services.



Nolan won in District E, representing Barry, Clinton, Eaton, Gratiot, Ingham, Ionia, Livingston, Montcalm, and Shiawassee counties. He is the president of Nolan, Thomsen and Villas

Lawrence P. Nolan

P.C. and has been actively involved in the State Bar for over three decades. He served one term on the Board of Commissioners from 1983 to 1985. He has also participated in numerous State Bar committees. He currently serves as treasurer of the Michigan Supreme Court Historical Society and is a member of the State Bar Representative Assembly and the Judicial Qualifications Committee. Nolan is also active in local bar activities and is the longest-serving member of the Thomas M. Cooley Board of Directors, serving continuously for the past 25 years.

Riordan won in District H, representing Wayne, Lenawee, and Monroe counties. He currently serves on the State Bar Board of Commissioners and was previously in the Representative Assem-



bly. An assistant U.S. attorney for the past 11 years, he has handled both civil and criminal matters. He is on the State Bar Custodial Interrogation Task Force, Judicial Qualifications Committee, and the Federal Courts Committee. He is also active in many other professional groups. Riordan has served as an adjunct professor of securities regulation at the University of Detroit Mercy School of Law for 10 years, and has written for scholarly and Bar-related publications and spoken at many seminars.

Four attorneys won uncontested races for the 32-member Board of Commissioners:

- Thomas C. Rombach of New Baltimore won in District D, which covers Macomb and St. Clair counties.
- Lori A. Buiteweg of Ann Arbor won in District G, which covers Jackson and Washtenaw counties.
- Donald E. McGinnis, Jr. of Troy and Julie I. Fershtman of Farmington Hills were re-elected in District I, which covers Oakland County.

### SBM Representative Assembly

Forty-six attorneys won unopposed races in the Representative Assembly. The 150member Representative Assembly was created in 1972 to increase the proportion of members who actively participate in bar

policy; it serves as the final policymaking body of the State Bar. The new RA members are:

### **3rd Circuit—Wayne County**

John P. Mayer, Wyandotte Patrick McLain, Detroit William M. DeBiasi, Dearborn Matthew R. Abel, Detroit Fred K. Herrmann, Detroit Lisa Danielle Screen, Detroit Eric Stempien, Northville Walter H. Bentley III, Detroit Sean P. McNally, Detroit

#### 4th Circuit—Jackson County

Susan G. Murphy, Jackson

#### 6th Circuit—Oakland County

Gordan S. Gold, Southfield Edward L. Haroutunian, **Bingham Farms** Daniel D. Quick, Bloomfield Hills Michael J. Blau, Farmington Hills Elizabeth A. Sadowski, Rochester Lauren A. Rousseau, Auburn Hills Matthew B. Woodworth, Royal Oak Pratheep Sevanthinathan, Farmington Hills

#### 7th Circuit—Genesee County

Richard Morley Barron, Flushing Amy M. Kline, Flint

#### 10th Circuit—Saginaw County

Geoffrey G. Scott, Saginaw

#### 14th Circuit—Muskegon County

Shon A. Cook, Muskegon Michael G. Walsh, Muskegon

#### 15th Circuit—Branch County

J. Richard Colbeck, Coldwater

#### 16th Circuit—Macomb County

Peter W. Peacock, Mt. Clemens

#### 17th Circuit—Kent County

Robert J. Buchanan, Grand Rapids Kathleen M. Allen, Grand Rapids Kevin Michael Lesperance, Grand Rapids

#### 22nd Circuit—Washtenaw County

Elizabeth C. Jolliffe, Ann Arbor

# 23rd Circuit—Iosco, Oscoda, Arenac, and Alcona Counties

Duane L. Hadley, Standish

#### 29th Circuit—Clinton and Gratiot Counties

Rhonda M. Clark-Kreuer, St. Louis

#### 30th Circuit—Ingham County

Michael J. Marutiak, Lansing Catherine L. McClure, Lansing Stephen J. Gobbo, Lansing Joshua Sean Smith, Lansing

# 32nd Circuit—Gogebic and Ontonagon Counties

Rudolph F. Perhalla, Ironwood

#### 33rd Circuit—Charlevoix County

John A. Jarema, Charlevoix

#### 35th Circuit—Calhoun County

Susan L. Thorman, Corunna

#### 36th Circuit—Van Buren County

Lynda M. Pioch, Paw Paw

#### 44th Circuit—Livingston County

Dennis L. Brewer, Brighton

#### 47th Circuit—Delta County

Anne B. McNamara, Escanaba

#### 48th Circuit—Lapeer County

Christian J. Horkey, Monroe

## 49th Circuit—Mecosta and Osceola Counties

Peter G. Mekas, Reed City

#### 52nd Circuit—Huron County

Tami Woodworth Salens, Bad Axe

54th Circuit—Tuscola County Hon. W. Wallace Kent, Jr., Caro

# 55th Circuit—Gladwin and Clare Counties

Hon. Roy G. Mienk, Gladwin

### SBM Judicial Tenure Commission

The Honorable **Jeanne Stempien** of Detroit was re-elected to a third term as a member of the Judicial Tenure Commission. Her three-year term begins January 1, 2010, and expires December 31, 2012. The Judicial Tenure Commission is a constitutionally created body that promotes the integrity of the judicial process and preserves public confidence in the courts.

Judge Stempien is serving her third term as a judge on the Wayne County Third Circuit Court. She is active in many professional associations and has served as a facilitator for the National Judicial College and as Master of the Bench for the Inns of Court, an advocacy program for law students.

# SBM Young Lawyers Section Executive Committee

Three attorneys—**Brandy Y. Robinson, Jennifer M. Harvey,** and **Felicia O. Johnson**—won a contested election in Wayne and Macomb counties. Their two-year terms will expire at the close of the Annual Meeting in 2011. In Oakland County, **Jessica Renee Simmons** and **Hope V. Shovein** won in uncontested elections. **Lisa C. Hagan** won in District 3, representing all other counties.

The Young Lawyers Executive Council governs the members of the Young Lawyers Section—the State Bar's largest section. The section provides education, information, and analysis about issues of concern through meetings, seminars, public service programs, and newsletters. The section has won numerous awards for its public service and educational programs. ■