12 SBM Awards

Nominations Open for Major State Bar Awards

ominations are now open for major State Bar of Michigan awards that will be presented at the September 2010 Annual Meeting in Grand Rapids.

The **Roberts P. Hudson Award** goes to a person whose career has exemplified the highest ideals of the profession. This award is presented periodically to commend one or more lawyers for their unselfish rendering of outstanding and unique service to and on behalf of the State Bar, given generously, ungrudgingly, and in a spirit of self-sacrifice. It is awarded to that member of the State Bar of Michigan who best exemplifies that which brings honor, esteem and respect to the legal profession. The Hudson Award is the highest award conferred by the Bar.

The **Frank J. Kelley Distinguished Public Service Award** recognizes extraordinary governmental service by a Michigan attorney holding elected or appointive office. Created by the Board of Commissioners in 1998, it was first awarded to Frank J. Kelley for his record-setting tenure as Michigan's chief lawyer.

The **Champion of Justice Award** is given for extraordinary individual accomplishments or for devotion to a cause. Not more than five awards are given each year to practicing lawyers and judges who have made a significant contribution to their community, state, or nation.

The **Kimberly M. Cahill Bar Leadership Award** was established in memory of the 2006–2007 SBM president who passed away in January 2008. This award will be presented to a recognized local or affinity bar association, program, or leader for excellence in promoting the ideal of professionalism or equal justice for all, or in responding to a compelling legal need within the community during the past year or on an ongoing basis.

The **John W. Cummiskey Pro Bono Award**, named after a Grand Rapids attorney, recognizes a member of the State Bar who excels in commitment to pro bono issues. This award carries with it a cash stipend to be donated to the charity of the recipient's choice.

All SBM award nominations are due on Friday, April 2 at 5 p.m.

The **Liberty Bell Award** recipient is selected from nominations made by local and special-purpose bar associations. The award is presented to a non-lawyer who has made a significant contribution to the justice system. The deadline for this award is **Monday, May 3.**

An Awards Committee co-chaired by State Bar President-Elect W. Anthony Jenkins and attorney Thomas Cranmer reviews nominations for the Roberts P. Hudson, Champion of Justice, Frank J. Kelley, Kimberly M. Cahill, and Liberty Bell awards. The State Bar Pro Bono Initiative Committee reviews nominations for the Cummiskey Pro Bono Award. These recommendations are then voted on by the full Board of Commissioners at its June meeting.

Last year's non-winner nominations will automatically carry over for consideration this year. Nominations should include sufficient details about the accomplishments of the nominee to allow the committees to make a judgment.

Any State Bar member can propose candidates for SBM awards. To apply online or download application forms, visit www.michbar.org/programs/eventsawards.cfm. Cummiskey Award nominations can be directed to Dionnie Wynter at dwynter@mail.michbar. org; all other nominations can be submitted to Joyce Nordeen, State Bar of Michigan, 306 Townsend St., Lansing, MI 48933 or jnordeen@mail.michbar.org. For more information, visit the State Bar's website, www.michbar.org, or call (517) 346-6373 or (800) 968-1442, or fax (517) 482-6248.

SBM

REPRESENTATIVE ASSEMBLY ACCEPTING NOMINATIONS FOR ANNUAL AWARDS

Nominations are being accepted for two State Bar of Michigan Representative Assembly awards. The **Michael Franck Award** is given annually to an attorney who has made an outstanding contribution to the improvement of the legal profession. The **Unsung Hero Award** is presented to a lawyer who has exhibited the highest standards of practice and commitment for the benefit of others.

Nominees for both awards must be members in good standing with the State Bar of Michigan. Candidate contributions may have been made during the past year or by virtue of cumulative effort or service. Nominations should include sufficient details about the nominee's accomplishments. The Assembly's Nominating and Awards Committee will review the applications and make a recommendation to the Representative Assembly. The Representative Assembly. The Representative Assembly, chaired by Elizabeth Johnson, is the final policy-making body of the State Bar.

The nomination deadline is **Friday**, **February 19.** Online applications are accepted at www.michbar.org/programs/ eventsawards.cfm. Nominations can also be mailed to:

Ms. Anne M. Smith Representative Assembly Awards State Bar of Michigan 306 Townsend Street Lansing, MI 48933-2012

For more information about the Representative Assembly awards, visit www.michbar.org or call (517) 346-6374 or (800) 968-1442 ext. 6374.