January 2011

8 Up Front

SBM Board of Commissioners 2010–2011



Seated left to right: Thomas C. Rombach, treasurer; W. Anthony Jenkins, president; Julie I. Fershtman, president-elect; and Brian D. Einhorn, secretary.

Second row, left to right: Donald G. Rockwell; Stephen J. Gobbo, Representative Assembly (RA) vice chair; Dana M. Warnez, RA clerk; Richard J. Siriani; Angelique Strong Marks; Laurin' C. Roberts Thomas; Victoria A. Radke, RA chair; Lambro Niforos; Margaret A. Costello; Danielle Mason Anderson; Lori A. Buiteweg; Julie A. Sullivan; and David R. Brake.

Third row, left to right: Richard L. Cunningham, Dennis M. Barnes, Michael J. Riordan, Robert J. Buchanan, Donald E. McGinnis Jr., Maureen M. McGinnis, James N. Erhart, David A. Kallman, Lawrence P. Nolan, and Edward L. Haroutunian.

Not pictured: Bruce A. Courtade, vice president; Elias J. Escobedo Jr.; Jules B. Olsman; David A. Perkins; and Brandy Y. Robinson.

Wanger Donates Priceless Constitutional Archive

Lansing attorney and 2005 State Bar Champion of Justice Award winner Eugene G. Wanger will long be remembered for his generous donation of a comprehensive constitutional history collection to the state archives. History buffs will have a field day perusing the hundreds of items that relate to Michigan's constitutional development since 1835, including rare first editions of the state's four constitutions and extensive materials from the Michigan Constitutional Convention of 1961–62. Wanger was the youngest Republican delegate to that conference and authored the state's constitutional prohibition of the death penalty. Material he used in writing that law is included in the collection. Wanger has also written a 233-page companion book on the collection, named after his parents: *The Eugene M. & Roka G. Wanger Michigan Constitutional History Collection, A Historical Bibliography.* Wanger's collection is now housed at the Archives of Michigan in the Michigan Library and Historical Center in Lansing.



Eugene G. Wanger with his Michigan constitutional history collection at the Archives of Michigan in Lansing.

Michigan Bar Retains Masi Cup

Michigan attorneys battled their Ohio counterparts on the golf course in Findlay, Ohio, in the fall, winning by just one point to take the 2010 Masi Cup. The event, now in its second year, is named in honor of Stevens T. Mason, a lawyer and the first governor of Michigan who was a key figure in the dispute that established the current boundary line between the two states. The tournament fosters the development of strong bonds between bar members of the two states and provides the opportunity to exchange professional ideas and information. The 2011 Masi Cup Classic will be played in Michigan at the Tullymore/St. lves courses near Stanwood in September.



Members of the 2010 Masi Cup team pictured are (standing, left to right): Edward H. Crawford, West Branch; 62A District Judge Steven M. Timmers; Brian S. Makaric, Saginaw; Marcus B. Connor, Royal Oak; Neil A. McQuarrie, Livonia; and David E. Kempner, Ann Arbor. Kneeling, left to right: Roscommon County Probate Judge Douglas C. Dosson (captain); Daryl J. Mumford, Battle Creek; David J. Anderson, Lansing; Cecil D. St. Pierre, Mt. Clemens; Michael J. Dennis, Warren; and 33rd District Judge James K. Kersten.