Section Briefs

Alternative Dispute Resolution Section

The ADR Section held its annual meeting September 23-24 at the Amway Grand in Grand Rapids. The meeting included election of new officers and council members, recognition of departing council members, and an eight-hour accredited training in advanced mediation techniques. New officers are A. David Baumhart III, chair; Robert E. L. Wright, chair-elect; Antoinette R. Raheem, treasurer; and Richard J. Figura, secretary. Immediate past chair is Donna J. Craig. The section is preparing to launch its "Michigan Mediates!" campaign.

Business Law Section

Congratulations to James Cambridge, this year's recipient of the Stephen H. Schulman Outstanding Business Lawyer Award. Business Boot Camp II, Basic Training for Business Lawyers, will be held November 7-8 in Grand Rapids and January 23-24, 2012 in Plymouth. Business Law Institute will be held May 4-5, 2012 in Grand Rapids. Watch for our e-newsletter, visit our website, join our LinkedIn group, or visit us on Facebook to learn about section events.

Criminal Law Section

Save the date! It's almost time for the 35th Annual Mid-Winter Ski Conference. Shanty Creek Resort in Bellaire once again hosts this popular event February 18-20, 2012. The President's Day weekend conference begins on Saturday. The resort offers reduced allinclusive rates with ski and non-ski packages in addition to room-only rates. More detailed information, including topics and speakers, will be posted in upcoming newsletters and on our website at http://www. michbar.org/criminal/news.cfm.

General Practice— Solo and Small Firm Section

The General Practice—Solo and Small Firm Section looks forward to expanding on 2011 efforts. Our section newsletter, The General Practitioner, has a proud tradition of publishing original articles to help our members practice law, keep abreast of the latest developments, and avoid pitfalls along the way. Our newsletter is e-mailed bimonthly and is part of our continuing commitment to you. We also provide luncheon seminars with a discount for section members.

Health Care Law Section

The Health Care Law Section's inaugural class of fellows was announced and honored at the section's annual meeting on September 21 at Meadowbrook Hall. The fellows designation was conferred to honor members who have made significant contributions to the section or to health care law in Michigan. The 2011 fellows are Maria Abrahamsen, Stephen Clifton, Gregory Drutchas, Alan Gilchrist, Gerald Griffith, Margaret Marchak, Gary McRay, David Rogers, Linda Ross, and Cynthia Wisner.

International Law Section

The ILS will meet four times in 2011-2012: November 16, January 25, March 21, and May 16. The November 16 International Arbitration Presentation at Ginopolis in Farmington Hills will include an ILS Council meeting at 4:30 p.m., followed by dinner and a presentation on international arbitration by Stephen Anway, focusing on recent developments under bilateral and multilateral investment treaties. The section extends special thanks to Cameron DeLong for his service as 2010-2011 chairperson and former officer and council member.

Litigation Section

Significant new jury reform rules became effective September 1, 2011, amending MCR 2.512, 2.513, 2.514, 2.515, 2.516, and 6.414. Some rules represent a significant departure from past practice. Jurors are now permitted to submit questions to witnesses through the judge, take notes during deliberations, and discuss the case before deliberations begin. Judges may allow attorneys to provide interim comments during the trial, outside of opening and closing arguments, and judges may "fairly and impartially sum up the evidence."

Paralegal/Legal Assistant Section

The section's annual meeting and elections were held September 16. Three new council members were elected: Kelly Dufty, Jennifer Petty, and Megan Vogrig. Tracy Muck was elected treasurer. The following will continue serving their current terms of office: Kathy Ann Blunck (chairperson), Jeanne Nyhuis, CP (secretary), Dorothy Grant, PP (council member), Renee Jent, CLA (council member), Cheryl Nodarse, CLA (council member), and Casey Mobley (ex officio chairperson). For details, see the section's newsletter at http://www.michbar.org/paralegal/ pdfs/LAfall11.pdf.

Real Property Law Section

Mark your calendars! The Annual Winter Conference will be held March 15-17, 2012, at the Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, Florida. Program coordinators are Melissa B. Papke of Varnum Law in Grand Rapids and Nicholas P. Scavone Jr. of Bodman PLC in Detroit. More information will be available late fall at http://www.michbar.org/ realproperty/winterconf.cfm. Rooms are limited, so book your reservation soon. To register, visit http://www.loewshotels.com/en/ Portofino-Bay-Hotel/GroupPages/RPLS.

Taxation Section

Mark your calendars for the 25th Annual Tax Conference to be held May 1, 2012 at the St. John's Conference Center, Plymouth. We have already secured nationally known presenters for this important event. Watch for details on the SBM website and through ICLE. Section officers for 2011-2012 are Warren J. Widmayer, chair; Wayne D. Roberts, vice chair; Lynn A. Gandhi, treasurer; and Marjorie B. Gell, secretary. Outgoing Chair Gina Torielli will continue on as ex officio.