SBM AWARDS 2014 Nominations Open for State Bar Awards DEADLINE IS APRIL 18

ominations are now open for major State Bar of Michigan awards that will be presented at the September 2014 Annual Meeting in Grand Rapids.

The **Roberts P. Hudson Award** goes to a person whose career has exemplified the highest ideals of the profession. This award is presented periodically to commend one or more lawyers for their unselfish rendering of outstanding and unique service to and on behalf of the State Bar, given generously, ungrudgingly, and in a spirit of self-sacrifice. It is awarded to that member of the State Bar of Michigan who best exemplifies that which brings honor, esteem, and respect to the legal profession. The Hudson Award is the highest award conferred by the Bar.

The **Frank J. Kelley Distinguished Public Service Award** recognizes extraordinary governmental service by a Michigan attorney holding elected or appointive office. Created by the Board of Commissioners in 1998, it was first awarded to Frank J. Kelley for his record-setting tenure as Michigan's chief lawyer.

The **Champion of Justice Award** is given for extraordinary individual accomplishments or for devotion to a cause. No more than five awards are given each year to practicing lawyers and judges who have made a significant contribution to their community, state, or nation.

The **Kimberly M. Cahill Bar Leadership Award** was established in memory of the 2006–2007 SBM president who passed away in January 2008. This award will be presented to a recognized local or affinity bar association, program, or leader for excellence in promoting the ideal of professionalism or equal justice for all, or in responding to a compelling legal need within the community during the past year or on an ongoing basis.

The **John W. Cummiskey Pro Bono Award**, named after a Grand Rapids attorney who was dedicated to making legal services available to all, recognizes a member of the State Bar who excels in commitment to pro bono issues. This award carries with it a cash stipend to be donated to the charity of the recipient's choice.

The John W. Reed Michigan Lawyer Legacy Award was introduced in 2011 and is named for a longtime and beloved University of Michigan Law School professor and Wayne State University dean. This award will be presented periodically to a professor from a Michigan law school whose influence on Michigan lawyers has elevated the quality of legal practice in the state.

SBM award nominations are due by 5 p.m. on Monday, April 18.

The **Liberty Bell Award** recipient is selected from nominations made by local and special-purpose bar associations. The award is presented to a non-lawyer who has made a significant contribution to the justice system. The deadline for this award is **5 p.m. on Monday, May 12**.

The awards committee, co-chaired by Francine Cullari and SBM President-Elect Thomas C. Rombach, reviews nominations for the Roberts P. Hudson, John W. Reed, Champion of Justice, Frank J. Kelley, Kimberly M. Cahill, and Liberty Bell awards. The SBM Pro Bono Initiative Committee reviews nominations for the Cummiskey Pro Bono Award. These recommendations are then voted on by the full Board of Commissioners at its June meeting.

Last year's non-winning nominations will automatically carry over for consideration this year. Nominations should include sufficient details about the accomplishments of the nominee to allow the committees to make a judgment.

Any SBM member can nominate candidates for awards. Apply online or download application forms at www.michbar.org/programs/eventsawards.cfm. For more information, contact Joyce Nordeen at jnordeen@mail.michbar.org or (517) 346-6373.

REPRESENTATIVE ASSEMBLY ACCEPTING NOMINATIONS FOR ANNUAL AWARDS; DEADLINE IS MARCH 14

Nominations are being accepted for two State Bar of Michigan Representative Assembly awards. The **Michael Franck Award** is given annually to an attorney who has made an outstanding contribution to the improvement of the legal profession. The **Unsung Hero Award** is presented to a lawyer who has exhibited the highest standards of practice and commitment for the benefit of others.

Nominees for both awards must be State Bar members in good standing. Candidate contributions may have been made during the past year or by virtue of cumulative effort or service. Nominations should include sufficient details about the nominee's accomplishments. The Assembly's Nominating and Awards Committee will review the applications and make awards recommendations to the Representative Assembly. The Representative Assembly, chaired by Kathleen Allen, is the final policymaking body of the State Bar.

The nomination deadline is **Friday, March 14**.

Apply online or download the nomination form at www.michbar.org/programs/ eventsawards.cfm.

For more information, call Anne Smith at (517) 346-6374 or (800) 968-1442, ext. 6374.