

# Town Hall Meeting—Biographical List of Participants

(1–4 p.m. on Friday, January 29, 2016, Michigan Hall of Justice, Lansing)

#### WELCOME

**Chief Justice Robert P. Young, Jr.** began his service as a justice on the Michigan Supreme Court, Lansing, in 1999, was first selected by his fellow justices to serve as chief justice in 2011, and has continuously served in that capacity since that time.

## INTRODUCTORY REMARKS AND OVERVIEW

**Thomas C. Rombach**, immediate past president of the State Bar of Michigan, initiated the Task Force on which he serves ex officio, while engaging in a solo practice at his law firm, Law Offices of Thomas C. Rombach, New Baltimore, focusing on criminal and civil litigation.

Janet K. Welch, executive director of the State Bar of Michigan, Lansing, is responsible for the conduct of the State Bar and its business operations, and serves as a liaison to the Task Force.

**Lori A. Buiteweg**, president of the State Bar of Michigan, serves ex officio on the Task Force, and is a member of Nichols Sacks Slank Sendelbach & Buiteweg PC, Ann Arbor, focusing on family law.

#### MODERATORS

**Bruce A. Courtade**, a former State Bar president, serves as co-chair of the Task Force and a member of its Regulatory Committee and is a member of Rhoades McKee, Grand Rapids, focusing on business and industry dispute resolution and litigation.

Julie I. Fershtman, a former State Bar president, serves as co-chair of the Task Force and is a shareholder in Foster Swift Collins & Smith, PC, Farmington Hills, focusing on commercial litigation.

## PANELISTS (listed in alphabetical order)

**Mark A. Armitage**, a member of the Task Force and its Regulatory Committee, is the executive director of the Michigan Attorney Discipline Board, Detroit.

**Lynn P. Chard**, a member of the Task Force and its Practice Committee, is the director of the Institute of Continuing Legal Education, Ann Arbor.

**Jerome Crawford**, a member of the Practice Committee, is an associate with Dickinson Wright PLLC, Troy office, focusing on civil litigation, intellectual property, and entertainment law.

**Erika L. Davis**, a member of the Practice Committee, engages in a solo practice at her law firm, Butler Davis PLLC, Detroit, focusing on family law, probate law, and business law.

**William B. Dunn**, a member of the Regulatory Committee and past chair of the SBM Ethics Committee, is of counsel to Clark Hill PLC, Grand Rapids office, focusing on complex real property transactions, legal ethics, and professional responsibility.

**Patrick M. Ellis**, a member of the Regulatory Committee, is legal project manager for Honigman Miller Schwartz & Cohn LLP, Detroit.

**Christopher G. Hasting**, a member of the Access and Affordability Committee, is a professor of law at Western Michigan University Thomas M. Cooley Law School, Grand Rapids campus.

**Joan Howarth**, a member of the Regulatory Committee, is dean and professor of law at Michigan State University College of Law, East Lansing.

**Don LeDuc**, a member of the Task Force, is president, dean, and professor of law at Western Michigan University Thomas M. Cooley Law School.

**Daniel W. Linna, Jr.**, a member of the Access and Affordability Committee, is assistant dean for career development, director of LegalRND, and professor of law at Michigan State University College of Law, East Lansing.

Marla R. McCowan, a member of the Practice Committee, is director of training, outreach, and support at the Michigan Indigent Defense Commission, Lansing.

**Jeffrey F. Paulsen**, a member of the Practice Committee, engages in a solo practice at his law firm, Paulsen Law Firm PLLC, Bingham Farms, focusing on business law.

**Elizabeth A. Silverman**, a member of the Task Force, engages in a solo practice at her law firm, Elizabeth A. Silverman PC, Farmington Hills, focusing on family law, probate law, real property law, and commercial litigation.

**Mwanaisha A. Sims**, a member of the Task Force, is an institutional equity investigator in the Office of Institutional Equity at Michigan State University, East Lansing.

Judge Cynthia D. Stephens, a member of the Regulatory Committee, is a judge on the Michigan Court of Appeals, Detroit.

**Angela S. Tripp**, a member of the Access and Affordability Committee, is managing attorney of the Michigan Poverty Law Program, Ann Arbor.

Maya K. Watson, a member of the Access and Affordability Committee, is a member of Bodman PLC, Detroit, focusing on banking law.

**Bert Whitehead IV**, a member of the Practice Committee, is president of his law firm, Access Legal Care PLLC, Garden City, offering legal services in a variety of practice areas, including family law, estate and probate, bankruptcy, and civil litigation.