State Bar of Michigan | 2016-2017 COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT

Article VI § 6, Bylaws of the State Bar of Michigan

No later than May 1 of each year, the chair of each committee and sub entity of the Bar, with the assistance of the staff liaison, shall report to the Executive Director on a form provided by the State Bar on the activities and accomplishments of the committee or sub entity.

Awards

Jurisdiction:

- · Recommend attorney recipients qualified to receive awards made in the name of the State Bar of
- · Recommend recipients of the annual Liberty Bell Award made to non-attorneys.
- · Recommend the establishment of new awards or discontinuation of existing awards.
- · The vice-president is a member of this committee.

Co-Chair

P44120

Lori A. Buiteweg, Ann Arbor

Nichols Sacks Slank Sendelbach & Buiteweg PC

121 W Washington St Ste 300 Ann Arbor MI 48104-1300 Phone: (734) 994-3000 Fax: (734) 994-1557

e-mail: buiteweg@nsssb.com

P55501 Jennifer M. Grieco, Birmingham

Neuman Anderson Grieco McKenney PC 401 S Old Woodward Ave Ste 460 Birmingham MI 48009-6622 Phone: (248) 594-5252

Fax: (248) 792-2838

e-mail: jgrieco@nagmlaw.com

Member

Term Ending:	2017	
P44120	Lori A. Buiteweg, Ann Arbor	
P29176	Nancy J. Diehl, Detroit	
P61757	Katherine A. Fox, Detroit	
P34884	Hon. Denise Langford Morris, Pontiac	
P65035	Solon M. Phillips, Farmington Hills	
Term Ending: 2018		
P33443	Brian D. Figot, Farmington Hills	
P39817	Brian L. Morrow, Detroit	
P21809	Carl E. Ver Beek, Grand Rapids	
Term Ending:	2019	
P31358	Nan Elizabeth Casey, East Lansing	
P41868	Margaret A. Costello, Detroit	
P55501	Jennifer M. Grieco, Birmingham	
P67570	Elizabeth A. Kitchen-Troop, Ann Arbor	

State Bar Liaison

Samantha Meinke, Lansing

State Bar Liaison Assistant

Joyce Nordeen, Lansing Anne M. Smith, Lansing

Committee Meeting Schedule:

Please attach any additional information needed regarding Committee meetings as an addendum.

^{*}Please keep meeting descriptions brief.

Meeting Type		Date	Location	
Description				
Meeting Type	Conference Call	11.16.16		
Description	Introductory call explaining annual process			
Meeting Type	Conference Call	1.25.17		
Description	Call to finalize outreach efforts			
Meeting Type	Conference Call	3.29.17		
Description	Call to determine award winners in all categories but I	_iberty Bel	I	
Meeting Type	Email/Conference Call after Liberty Bell deadline date	5.24.17		
Description	Call to determine Liberty Bell award winner			
Meeting Type				
Description				
Meeting Type				
Description				

Reset Section

Resources provided by the State Bar of Michigan in support of committee work:

Staff contacts co-chairs to schedule meetings and mailing dates, sends future meeting dates via email to committee members. Designs and updates language of Awards Brochure and online nomination forms to reflect new awards, deadlines and other changes. Prepares and issues news releases and brochures (printed and electronic) to legal newspapers, SBM Board of Commissioners, Representative Assembly, SBM Foundation, local and affinity bars, prosecutor and defender associations, law school deans, courts, large firms, SBM Sections and Committee chairs, etc.

Prepares and posts announcement for Michigan Bar Journal, e-Journal, SBM eblast, SBMblog, social media sites and other publications. Prepares agendas and minutes and posts to SBM Connect prior to the meetings.

Prepares tables summarizing nominees' accomplishments as applications are received.

Conducts simple background checks on nominees before names are submitted for consideration.

Compiles nominations for book to be printed for committee members.

Creates and sends online survey to committee members to help streamline the decision-making process during the final teleconference by determining the extent of support for each nominee prior to the commencement of formal discussions and to ascertain the early formation of consensus from the Committee as a whole for the various nominees both within the designated award nomination categories and as to the category in which each will be considered when the Committee confers and votes upon the award recommendations.

Drafts memorandum from co-chairs to SBM Board of Commissioners with recommendations for award winners. Creates letters from SBM executive director to award winners, and drafts emails to non-winner nominators.

Prepares publicity for the award recipients and sends news releases and posts list on website, blog and social media sites.

Orders Awards and oversees video production company to produce videos of each award winner for the banquet and for posting online. Writes short stories about each winner for Bar Journal.

Writes scripts for how Awards banquet should proceed.

Writes speeches for SBM presidents to present awards.

Works with banquet facility to set up production portion of banquet.

Drafts and designs an event program for the Annual Meeting Awards Banquet.

Committee Activities:

Committee members seek high quality nominations for SBM awards.

For the coming year's awards cycle, starting Oct. 1, 2016, and coming to an end at the 2017 Annual Meeting, where the awards will be handed out, there are 38 nominations to consider. Of these nominations, the committee can recommend eight award recipients.

In the last year's cycle, commencing at the 2016 Annual Meeting, the Committee gave out awards to nine Michigan attorneys and one bar association, and the Liberty Bell Award to two non-attorneys (awards were not selected prior to the due date of last year's annual report).

2016 Award Winners:

Roberts P. Hudson Award: Linda K. Rexer

Frank J. Kelley Award: William Forsyth and Wayne F. Pratt

Champion of Justice Award: Hon. Ulysses W. Boykin, Hon. Nanci J. Grant, Roland Hwang,

Marla Mitchell- Cichon and H. Rhett Pinsky

Kimberly M. Cahill Award: Macomb County Bar Foundation

John Reed Award: George Roumell

Liberty Bell Award: David Britten and Teresa Weatherall Neal

Future Goals and Activities:

Other Information:

Note: The Awards Committee has one co-chair ex-officio as the Vice President of the SBM Board Commissioners. The second co-chair is the operating co-chair appointed by the President of the SBM Board.	
Reset Sec	ction

Approved by	Approved	Name
Chair		
Co-chair	3.22.17	Lori Buiteweg and Jennifer Grieco
Staff Liaison	3.22.17	Samantha Meinke and Anne Smith
Other		

Reset Section