Awards – Standing Committee

Jurisdiction

Support the nomination process for and recommend recipients of awards made in the name of the State Bar of Michigan, by:

- Assisting in the management of the timetable for soliciting, reviewing, and recommending award nominations
- Providing input on effective solicitation of awards to ensure a high quality pool of diverse nominees
- Providing recommendations on the establishment of new awards or discontinuation of existing awards
- Offering guidance on how best to honor awardees and create an inspiring and accessible online archive of award recipients

Committee Chairs: Robert Buchanan and Dana Warnez

Staff Liaison: Darin Day

Meetings: In-person: 0; Electronic or phone: 4

Committee Activities

 Committee members seek high quality nominations for SBM awards from other members and bar associations. For the coming year's awards cycle, which started Oct. 1, 2018, and ends at the 2019 Awards Banquet at the end of September in 2019, where the awards will be handed out, there are 23 nominations to consider. Of these nominations, the committee can recommend eight award recipients. Liberty Bell nominations have not yet been received. Local and special purpose bar associations send their local Liberty Bell Award winners on to the State Bar for consideration. Most of these bar associations present their Liberty Bell Awards on Law Day, on or around May 1 each year. So the deadline for them to nominate winners is later in May.

Goal 2: Strategy 5: Expanding collaboration with professional organizations and communities outside of the legal community

2. In the last year's cycle, commencing at the 2018 NEXT Conference (Annual Meeting), the Committee gave out awards to seven Michigan attorneys and one Michigan attorney association, and the Liberty Bell Award to one non-attorney (awards were not selected prior to the due date of last year's annual report). 2018 Award Winners: Roberts P. Hudson Award: Bruce A. Courtade & Julie I Fershtman Frank J. Kelley Award: Hon. Marilyn J. Kelly & Robert P. Young Jr. Champion of Justice Award: Miriam J. Aukerman & Robert J. Heimbuch Kimberly M. Cahill Award: Women Lawyers Association of Michigan John Reed Award: Professor Lawrence Dubin Liberty Bell Award: Urban League of West Michigan

State Bar of Michigan | 2018-2019 COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT

Goal 2: Strategy 5: Expanding collaboration with professional organizations and communities outside of the legal community

3. Committee members review nominations submitted by other attorneys, as well as local and special purpose bar associations, and decide which nominees to recommend become award recipients. When doing so, they are always very aware of the importance of diversity and inclusion among award winners, and whenever possible they strive to grant awards to diverse nominees.

Goal 2: Strategy 5: Expanding collaboration with professional organizations and communities outside of the legal community