State Bar of Michigan Representative Assembly April 29, 2023

SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

The following is a summary of proceedings of the State Bar Representative Assembly session held Saturday, April 29, 2023, via Zoom Meeting.

- 1. Call to order by Vice-Chair Yolanda M. Bennett.
- 2. Clerk John W. Reiser declared a quorum (50+ members) was present.
- 3. Upon a motion made and seconded, the proposed calendar was adopted.
- 4. As provided in Rule 4.8, the Summary of Proceedings of the September 17, 2022, meeting was deemed approved.
- 5. Phillip Louis Strom, Chair of the Nominating and Awards Committee, addressed the Assembly on filling vacancies for the current meeting. Upon a motion made and seconded, LaKena T. Crespo (3rd Circuit), Dennis M. Flessland (6th Circuit), Ryanne E. Rizzo (6th Circuit), Natasha L. Rao (17th Circuit), Stephan M. Gaus (18th Circuit), Karl P. Numinen (25th Circuit), Lee D. Graham (37th), Robert L. Stratton, III (50th), and Amy L. Stikovich (57th), were appointed to fill immediate vacancies within their respective Circuits.
- 6. Phillip Louis Strom, Chair of the Nominating and Awards Committee, addressed the Assembly concerning 2023 Award Nominations. Upon a motion made and seconded, the Assembly approved the 2023 Award Recipients. The Unsung Hero Award will be presented to Hon. Melissa M. Pope. The Michael Franck Award will be presented to Sheldon G. Larky.
- 7. Gerrow D. Mason, Chair, addressed the Assembly via video recording.
- 8. Jennifer S. Bentley, Michigan State Bar Foundation Executive Director, presented on the Access to Justice Fund.
- 9. Gregory P. Conyers, Diversity Development Program Director, presented on the Face of Justice Program.
- 10. Mark W. Jane, member of the Nominating Committee and John W. Reiser, Chair of the Representative Assembly, addressed the Assembly for consideration of a proposed amendment to Michigan Permanent Rules of Procedure 2.7. After discussion and voice vote, the proposal passed with amendments.
- 11. Nicholas M. Ohanesian, Past Chair of the Representative Assembly; Mark W. Jane, member of the Nominating Committee; and John W. Reiser, Chair of the Representative Assembly, addressed the Assembly in a continued discussion of challenges and opportunities for the Representative Assembly.
- 12. Adjournment.