

#### MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

The State Bar Board of Commissioners met via conference call at 10:00 a.m., February 6, 2014. The Hudson Room at the Michael Franck Building in Lansing, MI was used to accommodate members of the public.

#### Commissioners present:

Kathleen M. Allen

Danielle Mason Anderson

Dennis M. Barnes

David R. Brake

Danielle M. Brown

Robert J. Buchanan

Timothy J. Burns

Lori A. Buiteweg, Vice President

Margaret A. Costello

Richard L. Cunningham

Brian D. Einhorn, President

D. Randall Gilmer

Stephen J. Gobbo

Jennifer M. Grieco

Edward L. Haroutunian

E. Thomas McCarthy, Jr.

Maureen M. McGinnis

Lawrence P. Nolan, Secretary

Jules Olsman

Daniel D. Quick

Victoria A. Radke

Hon. Michael J. Riordan

Donald G. Rockwell, Treasurer

Thomas C. Rombach, President-Elect

Hope V. Shovein

Gregory L. Ulrich

Vanessa Peterson Williams

## Commissioners absent and excused:

Commissioners Andrea Irons, Felicia O. Johnson, C. Thomas Ludden, Colleen A. Pero and Richard J. Siriani were absent and excused.

# State Bar Staff present:

Janet Welch, Executive Director

Marge Bossenbery, Executive Coordinator

Peter Cunningham, Director, Governmental Relations

Cliff Flood, General Counsel

Samatha Meinke, Communications Manager

## Guest

Lori Shemka

# Legislation

SB 0743 (Meekoff, Arlan) Occupations; attorneys; voluntary membership in the state bar; establish. Amends sec 901 of 1961 PA 236 (MCL 600.901).

A motion was offered and supported to oppose this legislation. The motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:30 a.m.