STATE BAR OF MICHIGAN BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MEETING MINUTES

President Barnes called the meeting to order at 9:34 a.m. on Friday, August 21, 2020 via videoconference.

Commissioners present:

David C. Anderson E. Thomas McCarthy Jr.

Dennis M. Barnes, President Joseph P. McGill Joseph J. Baumann Valerie R. Newman Robert J. Buchanan, President-Elect Nicholas M. Ohanesian

Aaron V. Burrell

B.D. "Chris" Christenson

Josephine A. DeLorenzo

Nicholas M. Orlanesian

Samantha J. Orvis

Hon. David A. Perkins

Barry R. Powers

Thomas H. Howlett Daniel D. Quick, Treasurer

Lisa J. Hamameh

Kara R. Hart-Negrich

Thomas G. Sinas

James W. Heath, Secretary

Gregory L. Ulrich

Sarah E. Kuchon Dana M. Warnez, Vice President

Suzanne C. Larsen Erane C. Washington James W. Low Mark A. Wisniewski

Commissioners Absent:

Danielle Mason Anderson Hon. Shauna L. Dunnings

Erika L. Butler Ryan Zemke

Hon. Clinton Canady III

State Bar staff present:

Janet Welch, Executive Director

Margaret Bossenbery, Executive Coordinator

Peter Cunningham, Assistant Executive Director and Director, Governmental Relations

Michelle Erskine, Research Assistant & Event Specialist

Tatiana Goodkin, Chief Financial Officer

Kathryn Hennessey, General Counsel

Carrie Sharlow, Administrative Assistant

Janna Sheppard, Administrative Assistant

Becky Weaver, Financial Services Manager

LEADERSHIP REPORTS

<u>President and Executive Director's Report</u>: Dennis M. Barnes, President and Janet K. Welch, Executive Director

Mr. Barnes and Ms. Welch reported that notice was given at the last meeting for the following proposed bylaw amendments:

 A motion was offered that Bylaw Article VIII, Section 1 be amended so that the committee annual reports are due on November 1 following the end of the fiscal year as follows:

Every Section and State Bar entity so directed by the Board of Commissioners or Representative Assembly shall annually make a written report containing a summary of its activities during the association fiscal year which shall be submitted to the Secretary on or before November 1 of the next fiscal year May 31. Annual reports may not exceed five 8 1/2" x 11" pages unless a waiver of this limitation is approved by the Executive Director.

The motion was seconded and approved.

2. A motion was offered that Bylaw Article III, Section 1, be amended to remove one seat from District H and add one seat to District I as follows:

Each district shall be entitled to elect one Commissioner with the exception of District C, which shall be entitled to elect two Commissioners; District E, which shall be entitled to elect two Commissioners; District H, which shall be entitled to elect five four Commissioners; and District I, which shall be entitled to elect six seven Commissioners.

The motion was seconded and approved.

3. A motion was offered that Bylaw Article III, Section 1 be amended to move Barry Judicial Circuit from District E to District F as follows:

There shall be nine Commissioner election districts composed of the judicial circuits indicated:

The motion was seconded and approved.

COMMISSIONER COMMITTEES

Finance: Daniel M. Quick, Chairperson

Mr. Quick and Ms. Welch presented the FY 2021 budget and responded to questions and received comments from Board members.

A motion was offered to adopt the FY 2021 budget. The motion was seconded and approved.

Other

Comments or questions from Commissioners

There were none.

Comments or questions from the public

There were none.

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 10:15 a.m.