#### MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

President Jenkins called the State Bar of Michigan (SBM) Board of Commissioners meeting to order at 1:10 p.m. on Wednesday, September 14, 2011 at the Hyatt Regency Dearborn Hotel.

# Commissioners present:

Dennis M. Barnes

David R. Brake

Robert J. Buchanan

Lori A. Buiteweg

Margaret A. Costello

Bruce A. Courtade, Vice President

Richard L. Cunningham

Brian D. Einhorn, Secretary

James N. Erhart

Elias J. Escobedo, Jr.

Julie I. Fershtman, President Elect

Stephen J. Gobbo

W. Anthony Jenkins, President

Edward L. Haroutunian

David A. Kallman

Donald E. McGinnis, Jr.

Maureen M. McGinnis

Lambro Niforos

Lawrence P. Nolan

Jules B. Olsman

David A. Perkins

Victoria A. Radke

Michael J. Riordan

Brandy Y. Robinson

Donald G. Rockwell

Thomas C. Rombach, Treasurer

Richard J. Siriani

Angelique Strong Marks

Julie A. Sullivan

Laurin' C Roberts Thomas

Dana M. Warnez

## Commissioners absent and excused:

Commissioner Julie A. Sullivan was absent and excused.

#### State Bar Staff present:

Janet Welch, Executive Director

Margaret Bossenbery, Executive Coordinator

Nancy Brown, Director, Member Services & Communications

Gregory Convers, Director, Diversity

Candace Crowley, Director, External Development

Dawn Evans, Director, Professional Standards

Cliff Flood, General Counsel

James Horsch, Director, Finance and Administration

Elizabeth Lyon, Director, Governmental Relations

Anne Smith, Administrative Assistant

Mike Smith, Communications Designer

Naseem Stecker, Media and Public Relations Manager

Anne Vrooman, Director, Research and Development

# Consent Agenda

#### Minutes

The Board received the minutes from the September 7, 2011 Board of Commissioners meeting. The Board received the minutes from the August 23, 2011 Executive Committee meeting.

A motion was offered, supported, to approve the consent agenda. Motion approved.

## **COMMISSIONER COMMITTEES**

Finance, Thomas C. Rombach, Chairperson

There was not a report.

Board of Commissioners Meeting September 14, 2011 Page 2 of 3

## Professional Standards, Brian D. Einhorn, Chairperson

There was not a report.

## Programs and Services, Bruce A. Courtade, Chairperson

There was not a report.

# Public Policy, Image and Identity, Julie I. Fershtman, Chairperson

There was not a report.

#### **LEADERSHIP REPORTS**

#### President's Report, W. Anthony Jenkins, President

Mr. Jenkins expressed his thanks to everyone on the Board for their dedication and hard work during his Presidential year.

## Executive Director's Report, Janet K. Welch, Executive Director

There was not a report.

## Representative Assembly Report, Victoria A. Radke, Chairperson

Ms. Radke reported that all of the seats on the Representative Assembly are filled.

## American Bar Association (ABA) Report, Reginald Turner, State Delegate

Mr. Jenkins reported that the ABA Annual Meeting was held in Toronto. He reported that the Uniform Collaborative Law proposal by was rejected by a substantial margin.

# Young Lawyers Section (YLS) Report, Maureen M McGinnis, Chairperson

Ms. McGinnis reported that the YLS webpage is up and running. She also mentioned that at the ABA Annual Meeting the YLS won two awards for programming.

#### Commission Resolutions

Danielle Mason Anderson written and presented by Maureen M. McGinnis

Elias J. Escobedo, Jr. written and presented by Donald E. McGinnis, Jr..

David J. Kallman written and presented by Lawrence P. Nolan

Lambro Niforos written and presented by Angelique Strong Marks

Victoria A. Radke written and presented by Stephen J. Gobbo

#### Recognition of President W. Anthony Jenkins

President Elect Fershtman presented President Jenkins with a scrapbook and plaque honoring his year as President of the State Bar of Michigan.

#### Comments or questions from Commissioners

There were none.

## Comments or questions from the public

There were none.

#### Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 2:00 p.m.