STATE BAR OF MICHIGAN BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MEETING MINUTES

President Warnez called the meeting to order at 11:30 a.m. on Friday, September 17, 2021, via videoconference.

Commissioners present: Danielle Mason Anderson David C. Anderson Yolanda Bennett Kristina A. Bilowus Aaron V. Burrell Erika L. Butler Hon. B. Chris Christenson Thomas P. Clement Sherriee Detzler Robert A. Easterly Hon. Kameshia D. Gant Lisa J. Hamameh, Treasurer James W. Heath, President-Elect Thomas H. Howlett Sarah E. Kuchon Suzanne C. Larsen

<u>Commissioners absent:</u> Mark A. Wisniewski James W. Low Gerrow D. "Gerry" Mason E. Thomas McCarthy Jr. Joseph P. McGill, Secretary Valerie R. Newman Takura N. Nyamfukudza Nicholas M. Ohanesian Samantha J. Orvis Hon. David A. Perkins Colemon Potts Daniel D. Quick, Vice President Hon. Kristen D. Simmons Thomas G. Sinas Dana M. Warnez, President Hon. Erane C. Washington

State Bar staff present: Janet Welch, Executive Director Margaret Bossenbery, Executive Coordinator Nancy Brown, Assistant Executive Director Gregory Convers, Program Director, Diversity Development Program Peter Cunningham, Assistant Executive Director and Director, Governmental Relations Darin Day, Program Director, Outreach Michelle Erskine, Research Assistant & Event Specialist Katherine Gardner, UPL Counsel Tatiana Goodkin, Chief Financial Officer Kathryn Hennessey, General Counsel and Assistant Executive Director Robert Mathis, Pro Bono Services & Justice Initiatives Counsel Molly Ranns, Director, Lawyers & Judges Assistance Program Carrie Sharlow, Administrative Assistant Janna Sheppard, Administrative Assistant Kari Thrush, Program Director, Lawyer Services Anne Vrooman, Program Director, Research & Development

2021-2022 Board of Commissioners September 17, 2021, meeting minutes Page **2** of **2**

<u>President's Report</u> Ms. Warnez welcomed the new Board members.

Ms. Warnez asked the new commissioners to introduce themselves.

Ms. Warnez welcomed Chief Justice Bridget M. McCormack to the meeting.

Chief Justice McCormack swore in Ms. Warnez as president of the State Bar of Michigan.

Chief Justice McCormack swore in Mr. Heath, Mr. Quick, Mr. McGill, and Ms. Hamameh as officers of the Board of Commissioners.

Chief Justice McCormack swore in the remaining members of the Board of Commissioners.

<u>Authorize President to Appoint an Executive Committee</u> A motion was offered to approve the appointment of the Executive Committee. The motion was seconded and approved.

<u>2021-2022 Commissioner Committee Appointments</u> Ms. Warnez stated that the committee appointments were sent to the commissioners electronically.

Fiscal Matters

The Board received information about Nexonia, the SBM expense reimbursement system.

Board Member Information Forms

The Board received the forms to complete for the Pictorial Directory and were asked to return them to Ms. Bossenbery once they were completed.

<u>2021-2022 Board of Commissioners and Representative Assembly Meeting Dates</u> The Board received the dates for the 2021-2022 Board of Commissioners and Representative Assembly meetings.

<u>Adjournment</u> The meeting was adjourned at 12:15 p.m.