SBM Names Members of Judicial Crossroads Task Force


The State Bar of Michigan has named 28 prominent lawyers and judges as members of the newly created Judicial Crossroads Task Force.

Led by the immediate past president of the State Bar, Edward H. Pappas, and the former chief judge of the Oakland County Circuit Court, Barry L. Howard, the task force will hold its first meeting on Friday, Oct. 23 in Lansing.

"We have assembled an excellent group of professionals who will identify how Michigan's justice system can meet the needs of the public in the face of major changes that are underway in the state's economy," Pappas said. "It's essential that we seize this opportunity to accomplish what needs to be done."

Howard noted that the groups' work will be supported by four committees: Court Structure and Resources, Access to Justice, Technology, and Business Impact. "We expect to complete our work within one year," Howard said.

Members of the Judicial Crossroads Task Force are: (updated January 25, 2010)

    Diane L. Akers—Bodman LLP
    Hon. James Alexander—Oakland County Circuit Court
    Hon. Marilyn E. Atkins—36th District Court
    James S. Brady—Miller Johnson
    Thomas W. Cranmer—Miller Canfield
    Hon. Alton T. Davis—Michigan Court of Appeals
    Nancy J. Diehl—former Wayne County Prosecuting Attorney
    Hon. Susan L. Dobrich—Cass County Circuit Court Family Div.
    Andrew Doctoroff—Honigman Miller
    Hon. Pat M. Donofrio—Michigan Court of Appeals 2nd District
    George A. Googasian—Googasian Firm PC
    Michael J. Hodge—Miller Canfield
    Dirk Hoffius—Varnum LLP
    Barry L. Howard—Lipson Neilson Cole Seltzer & Garin PC
    E. Christopher Johnson Jr.—Thomas M. Cooley Law School
    Hon. Marilyn J. Kelly—Chief Justice, Michigan Supreme Court
    Hon. James C. Kingsley—37th Circuit Court
    Hon. Milton L. Mack Jr.—Wayne County Probate Court
    Richard D. McLellan—Dykema Gossett PLLC
    Hon. Susan M. Moiseev—46th District Court
    Hon. Denise Langford Morris—6th Circuit Court
    Margaret J. Nichols—Nichols Sacks
    Hon. Maria Oxholm—3rd Circuit Court
    Edward H. Pappas—Dickinson Wright PLLC
    Hon. Victoria A. Roberts—U.S. District Court
    Hon. Kirk W. Tabbey—14A District Court
    Hon. Kenneth L. Tacoma—Wexford County Probate Court
    Reginald M. Turner Jr.—Clark Hill PLC
    Valdemar L. Washington—MI Dep't of Treasury