Environmental Law Section of the State Bar of Michigan
View Online

Register Now—Fall Joint Environmental Conference Thursday, Nov. 8

Date: Thursday, November 8, 2018
Location: Lansing Community College-West Campus, 5708 Cornerstone Dr.,
Time: 8:00 a.m.
–4:30 p.m.
Register: online or by mail form
Registration Deadline: Nov. 5, 2018

- Environmental Law Section Member—$160
- Air & Waste Management Association Member—$160
- Department of Environmental Quality Employee—$90
- Student—$30
- Other Registrants—$190

* East Michigan-AWMA Corporate Sponsors must register online. If requesting to use corporate sponsor coupon please contact Mary Anne Parks at parks.maryanne@gmail.com directly for a password code.

For additional information regarding this event, contact Mary Anne Parks at (248) 895-6400 or parks.maryanne@gmail.com.


7:30 a.m. Registration & Breakfast

8:00 Welcome & Intro
Scott Sinkwitts, Consumers Energy

8:10 MDEQ Chief Deputy Director Intro
Aaron Keatley, Chief Deputy Director, MDEQ

8:30 MDEQ Division "Hot Topics" with Q & A
Mary Ann Dolehanty, Director, Air Quality Division
Teresa Seidel, Director, Water Resources Division
Susan Leeming, Director, Remediation & Redevelopment Division
Jack Schinderle, Director,Waste Management & Radiological Protection Division

9:45 MDEQ Director Presentation
Heidi Grether, Director, MDEQ

10:00 EPA Region V Administrator Presentation
Cathy Stepp, Regional Administrator, EPA Region V

10:30 Networking Break/Buffer

10:45 Morning Break Out Sessions

Air—Air Regulations & Requirements for Non-Attainment Areas
Moderator: Lillian Woolley, PE, Fishbeck, Thompson, Carr & Huber, Inc
Steve Zervas, Trinity Consultants
Kim Essenmacher, General Motors
Greg Myers, Marathon Petroleum

Waste—PFAS 201 Panel
Moderator: Kurt Brauer, Warner Norcross & Judd LLP
Tracy Kecskemeti, DEQ (SE District Office, District Supervisor)
Jim Cai, GZA (Senior Project Manager)

Noon Lunch & Keynote Speaker(s)

PFAS—Michigan PFAS Action Response Team (MPART) Panel
Carol Isaacs, MPART Director
Dennis Mack, MDEQ
Steve Sliver, Assistant Division Director, Waste Management and Radiological Protection, MDEQ

1:30 p.m. Afternoon Break Out Sessions

Air—Minor Source Modeling
Brian Leahy, Barr Engineering Co

Waste—Ford Motor Company PACE
Sherry Mueller, Ford Motor Company

Waste—Kent County Sustainable Business Park
Darwin Baas, Director, Kent County Department of Public Works

2:30 Networking Break

2:45 Plenary— EJ & Public Participation
Nick Schroeck, Director of Clinical Programs and Associate Professor of Law, UD Mercy School of Law

3:15 Plenary—Effective Public Participation
William Fink, Environmental Mgr., Clemens Food Group

3:45 Plenary—California’s Prop 65: Confusion, Disbelief and Unanticipated Costs
AnnMarie Sanford, Attorney at Law, Pepper Hamilton

4:15 Closing Remarks
Scott Sinkwitts, Consumers Energy

4:30 Happy Hour—Eagle Monk Brewery, 4906 W Mt Hope Hwy., Lansing

Thank you to our sponsors!




Breakfast Sponsor


Afternoon Break Sponsor
Dickinson Wright

Happy Hour Sponsor

Pepper Hamilton


General Conference Supporters—Sponsorships Still Available!

Consumers Energy


NTH Consultants

Raffle Gift Sponsor