SBM Announces 2019 Election Results

SBM Announces 2019 Election Results

SBM Board of Commissioners

Three attorneys—E. Thomas McCarthy Jr., Thomas G. Sinas, and Erika L. Butler—won contested seats in this year’s Board of Commissioners elections. All will serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the 2022 Annual Meeting.

McCarthy and Sinas were elected to serve District C, representing Oceana, Muskegon, Ottawa, Newaygo, Kent, Osceola, Mecosta, Clare, Isabella, and Gladwin counties. McCarthy, a shareholder at Smith Haughey Rice & Roegge, has been an elected member of the Board of Commissioners since 2013. Sinas practiced in Minnesota until 2013, when he returned to Michigan and opened the Grand Rapids office of the Sinas Dramis law firm.

Butler was elected to serve District H, representing Monroe, Lenawee, and Wayne counties. She has been a Michigan lawyer for almost 20 years with a solo practice representing nonprofits, small businesses, and individual clients throughout Metropolitan Detroit and beyond.

Four attorneys won unopposed races in the State Bar Board of Commissioners:

Suzanne C. Larsen, a partner with Kendricks Bordeau Keefe Seavoy & Larsen PC in Marquette, was elected to serve District A, representing the Upper Peninsula and northern Lower Peninsula.

Danielle M. Anderson of Miller Canfield Paddock & Stone PLC’s Kalamazoo office, was re-elected to serve District F, representing Allegan, Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Hillsdale, Kalamazoo, St. Joseph, and Van Buren counties.

Sarah E. Kuchon and James W. Low were elected to serve District I, representing Oakland County. Kuchon is a partner with Hohauser Kuchon in Troy. Low is with the Dollar Law Firm PLLC in Southfield.

Judicial Tenure Commission

Thomas J. Ryan of Sylvan Lake won a contested election for a three-year term on the Judicial Tenure Commission that will commence January 1, 2020, and expire on December 31, 2022.

SBM Representative Assembly

Elizabeth M. Johnson, David A. McCreedy, Daniel J. Ferris, Jennifer A. Cupples, and Hon. Kristina L. Robinson won contested races for terms on the Representative Assembly in Circuit 3, representing Wayne County.

Forty-two attorneys won unopposed:

Fourth Circuit—Jackson County
Rebecca K. Arnold

Fifth Circuit—Barry County
Steven G. Storrs

Sixth Circuit—Oakland County
Michael J. Blau
J. Matthew Catchick Jr.
Karen R. Geibel
Edward L. Haroutunian
Emily A. Karr
Joshua A. Lerner
Joseph F. Sawka
Christopher Schaedig
Jennifer R. Turchyn

9th Circuit—Kalamazoo County
Reh Starks-Harling
Paul J. Yancho

12th Circuit—Baraga, Houghton, & Keweenaw Counties
Matthew C. Eliason

13th Circuit—Antrim, Grand Traverse, & Leelanau Counties
John R. Blakeslee
James L. Rossiter

14th Circuit—Muskegon County
Elsie M. Elzinga

16th Circuit—Macomb County
Randall J. Chioini
Alyia M. Hakim
Laura Polizzi
Stephen M. Steinhardt

17th Circuit—Kent County
Michael D. Adams
Michael P. Hanrahan
Patrick M. Jaicomo

18th Circuit—Bay County
Marcus R. Garske

20th Circuit—Ottawa County
Christopher M. Wirth

22nd Circuit—Washtenaw County
Elizabeth C. Jolliffe

25th Circuit—Marquette County
Erica N. Payne

30th Circuit—Ingham County
Stephen J. Gobbo

31st Circuit—St. Clair County
Hilary B. Georgia
Gerrow D. Mason

36th Circuit—Van Buren County
Adam D. Bancroft

37th Circuit—Calhoun County
James L. Jordan

38th Circuit—Monroe County
Anne M. McCarthy

39th Circuit—Lenawee County
Jennifer A. Frost

41st Circuit—Dickinson, Iron, & Menominee Counties
Hon. Christopher S. Ninomiya

42nd Circuit—Midland County
Angela M. Cole

43rd Circuit—Cass County
Kelley James-Jura

47th Circuit—Delta County
Lauren M. Wickman

51st Circuit—Lake & Mason Counties
Jordan Miller

56th Circuit—Eaton County
Timothy H. Havis

57th Circuit—Emmet County
Christina L. DeMoore

SBM Young Lawyers Section Executive Council

Three attorneys—Elisha M. Oakes of Saint Clair Shores, Colemon L. Potts of Detroit, and Silvia A. Mansoor of Detroit—won contested elections in District 1, representing Wayne and Macomb counties, for two-year terms expiring in 2021.

Two attorneys—Matthew P. Breuer of Royal Oak and Randall L. Tatem of Troy—won uncontested elections in District 2, representing Oakland County, for two-year terms expiring in 2021.

Three attorneys—Amy S. Krieg of Ann Arbor, Samantha J. Orvis of Grand Blanc, and Matthew A. Sous of Saginaw—won uncontested elections in District 3, representing all Michigan counties except for Wayne, Oakland, and Macomb, for two-year terms expiring in 2021.