Pro Hac Vice: Temporary Admission to Practice Law in Michigan

Michigan Court Rule 8.126 sets forth the process for out-of-state attorneys to apply for temporary admission to practice in a Michigan court, administrative tribunal, or arbitration. An out-of-state attorney may be admitted to practice in no more than five cases during a 365-day period. A Michigan attorney must move for the temporary admission of the out-of-state attorney. The cost to apply for temporary admission is $135.

 

How Do I Apply For Pro Hac Vice Admission?


Michigan Lawyer Must Move for Admission

The Michigan lawyer prepares and submits the motion and materials on behalf of the out-of-state attorney seeking temporary admission to court and the State Bar of Michigan.

Preparing the Motion and Accompanying Materials

  • Motion: The motion must be filed with the court in which the out-of-state attorney seeks admission, stating that the Michigan attorney has reviewed the accompanying materials and believes the out-of-state attorney’s representations are true. A form motion is available here (Word Doc).
  • Certificate of Good Standing: The out-of-state attorney must provide a current certificate of good standing from a jurisdiction where the attorney is licensed and eligible to practice. While the court ultimately determines what constitutes a “current” certificate of good standing, based on past experience, courts typically accept certificates that are up to two months old. Due to COVID-19, courts may be more lenient and accept certificates of good standing up to four months old.
  • Affidavit: The out-of-state attorney must provide an affidavit with the items set forth in MCR 8.126(A)(1)(a)(i)-(iv). A form affidavit is available here (Word Doc).
  • Disciplinary Records: The out-of-state attorney must provide copies of any disciplinary dispositions.

Submitting the Motion and Accompanying Materials

  • Court: The Michigan attorney must file the motion and accompanying materials in the court in which the out-of-state attorney seeks admission.
  • State Bar of Michigan: The out-of-state attorney must submit a copy of the motion and accompanying materials—combined in a single PDF—and pay the pro hac vice fee of $135 through the State Bar of Michigan’s Member Portal. First-time applicants can create a member profile. Note: The online system does not allow users to amend information after it is submitted.

 

What Happens Next?


  • State Bar of Michigan: The State Bar of Michigan will notify the court of the number of times the out-of-state attorney has been temporarily admitted in the state in the last 365 days. This notice will be sent out within seven days of receiving the temporary admission materials.
  • Court: The court will then decide whether to grant the motion for temporary admission.
  • Michigan Lawyer: The Michigan attorney who filed the motion must email a copy of the court’s order within seven days to prohacvice@michbar.org.

 

Questions?


Please contact the State Bar of Michigan at prohacvice@michbar.org or (517) 367-6426.

Important Points

  • Out-of-state attorneys may be admitted pro hac vice up to five times a year.
  • The motion must be submitted to both the court and the State Bar of Michigan.
  • Motion materials must be submitted to SBM in a single PDF.
  • Sponsoring attorneys are required under MRC 8.126 to submit a copy of the pro hac vice order to SBM.  Orders should be emailed to prohacvice@michbar.org.

Sample Documents

Motion (Word Doc)
Affidavit (Word Doc)