2022 Inaugural & Awards Luncheon

SBM Inaugural & Awards Luncheon Banner - A Time to Honor Our Best

SBM Board of Commissioners - 2022-2023 Officers Banner

Congratulations to all the award winners from 2020 and 2022 who were honored during the Inaugural & Awards Luncheon on September 16, 2022.

Roberts P. Hudson Award: Barry L. Howard (2020), Janet K. Welch (2022)

The State Bar of Michigan's highest honor, presented periodically to commend one or more lawyers for their unselfish rendering of outstanding and unique service to and on behalf of the State Bar of Michigan, the legal profession, and public.

Frank J. Kelley Distinguished Public Service Award: Ronald J. Frantz and Anita L. Hitchcock (2020), Cynthia D. Stephens (2022)

Recognizes extraordinary governmental service by a member of the State Bar of Michigan.

Champion of Justice Award: Thomas P. Boyd, Susan L. Dobrich and James H. Fisher (2020), Margaret A. Costello, Robyn L. McCoy (2022)

Given to practicing lawyers and judges of integrity and adherence to the highest principles and traditions of the legal profession, superior professional competence, and an extraordinary professional accomplishment that benefits the nation, the state, or the local community in which the lawyer or judge lives.

John W. Reed Lawyer Legacy Award: Prof. Paul D. Reingold (2020), Peter J. Henning (2022)

Given periodically to an educator from a Michigan law school whose influence on lawyers has elevated the quality of legal practice in our state.

John W. Cummiskey Pro Bono Award: Heidi A. Naasko (2020), John R. Runyan, Jr. (2022)

Recognizes a Michigan lawyer who has made a significant pro bono contribution.

Kimberly M. Cahill Bar Leadership Award: ATJ Mid-Northern Michigan Expungement Project (2020), D. Augustus Straker Bar Association (2022)

Recognizes a local or affinity bar association, program, or leader for excellence in promoting the ideal of professionalism or equal justice for all, or in responding to a compelling legal need within the community.

Liberty Bell Award: Timothy Skubick (2020), Grace French (2022)

Given by local bar associations in conjunction with Law Day to honor outstanding citizens within the local community. The SBM Awards Committee selects the statewide Liberty Bell Award winner from local bar winners submitted to the State Bar.