Roberts P. Hudson Award

This award is presented periodically to commend one or more lawyers for their unselfish rendering of outstanding and unique service to and on behalf of the State Bar of Michigan, the legal profession, and public. It signifies unusual and extraordinary help and assistance to the Bar and the legal profession, which has been given generously, ungrudgingly, and in a spirit of self-sacrifice. It is awarded to that member of the State Bar of Michigan who best exemplifies that which brings honor, esteem, and respect to the legal profession. The Hudson Award is considered the highest award conferred by the State Bar.

Application Form: apply online or complete the Word document

Previous Winners

2023 Nancy J. Diehl, Joseph Kimble, and John M. Sier
2022 Janet Welch
2021 No award
2020 Barry L. Howard
2019 Lawrence P. Nolan
2018 Bruce A. Courtade; Julie I. Fershtman
2017 Gerard Mantese
2016 Linda K. Rexer
2015 Edward H. Pappas
2014 Francine Cullari; Carl E. Ver Beek
2013 Kurt E. Schnelz
2012 Frederick M. Baker Jr.
2011 James K. Robinson (posthumously)
2010 James C. Cotant
2009 No award
2008 Kimberly M. Cahill (posthumously); Kathleen McCree Lewis (posthumously)
2007 No award
2006 Thomas G. Plunkett
2005 Stephen C. Bransdorfer; Hon. Cynthia D. Stephens
2004 No award
2003 George T. Roumell Jr.
2002 No award
2001 Hon. Alfred M. Butzbaugh; Hon. Victoria A. Roberts
2000 No award
1999 John W. "Jack" Martin
1998 Jon R. Muth
1997 Wallace D. Riley; Raymond H. Dresser Jr.
1996 Robert S. McKenzie
1995 George Googasian
1994 Dennis Archer; Hon. Gene Schnelz
1993 Michael Franck; Robert Webster
1992 No award
1991 Hon. Hilda Gage; John W. Cummiskey
1990 Julia Darlow
1989 John W. Reed
1988 James A. Tuck (posthumously)
1987 Robert J. Wilson
1986 H. Rollin Allen
1985 George Bushnell; John K. Parker
1984 No award
1983 Leo Farhat; William Ellman; Laurence Lindemer; William Reamon; Angus Goetz
1982 No award
1981 No award
1980 No award
1979 George Bushnell; Austin Hirschhorn