Kimberly M. Cahill Bar Leadership Award

This award is presented to a recognized local or affinity bar association, program, or leader for excellence in promoting the ideal of professionalism or equal justice for all, or in responding to a compelling legal need within the community during the past year or on an ongoing basis.

This award is established in memory of Kimberly M. Cahill, president of the State Bar of Michigan (2006-2007). Her volunteer leadership efforts in state and local bar organizations included serving as chair of the Representative Assembly, president of the Women Lawyer's Association of Michigan, and president of the Macomb County Bar Association. These roles displayed her commitment to the highest ideals of professionalism and community service, focusing on equal access to justice for all.

Please note that "bar leader" includes non-lawyers. "Local or affinity" applies to the bar association, the program, and the leader. A person or organization collaborating with a local or affinity bar association is eligible for this award.

Application Form: Apply online or complete the Word document

Previous Winners

2023 The committee recommends that no award be presented this year.
2022 D. Augustus Straker Bar Association
2021 No award
2020 ATJ Mid-Northern Michigan Expungement Project
2019 Michael J. Sullivan
2018 Women Lawyers Association of Michigan
2017 Patrick J. Wilson
2016 Macomb County Bar Foundation
2015 St. Clair County Bar Association
2014 Eastern District of Michigan Pro Bono Council, Thomas G. McNeill
2013 Modest Means Program, Elizabeth A. Kitchen-Troop
2012 Oakland County Bar Association Pro Bono Mentor Match Program
2011 A is for Attorney Program
2010 Ingham County Bar Association
2009 Fair Housing Center of Metropolitan Detroit