State Bar of Michigan Announces 2014 Election Results


James Heath Christopher Johnson Greg Ulrich Donald Rockwell
James Heath E. Christopher Johnson Gregory Ulrich Donald Rockwell
Shanua Dunnings Jennifer Grieco Richard Siriani
Shauna Dunnings Jennifer Grieco Richard Siriani


SBM Board of Commissioners

Three attorneys—James W. Heath, of Detroit; E. Christopher Johnson Jr., of Plymouth; and Gregory L. Ulrich, of Grosse Pointe Woods—won contested seats in District H, representing Lenawee, Monroe, and Wayne counties, in this year's SBM Board of Commissioners elections. All will serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the 2017 Annual Meeting.

Four attorneys won unopposed races to the State Bar Board of Commissioners. Donald G. Rockwell, of Flint, won in District B, representing Bay, Huron, Genesee, Lapeer, Midland, Sanilac, Saginaw, and Tuscola counties; Shauna L. Dunnings, of Lansing, won in District E, representing Barry, Clinton, Eaton, Gratiot, Ingham, Ionia, Livingston, Montcalm, and Shiawasee counties; Jennifer M. Grieco, of Birmingham, and Richard J. Siriani, of Troy, won two seats in District I, representing Oakland County. All four will serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the 2017 Annual Meeting.

The State Bar Board of Commissioners provides oversight to the various operations of the State Bar, such as finance, public policy, and member services.

Jill Nylander
Jill Nylander

State Bar Representative Assembly

One attorney won a contested race for the State Bar Representative Assembly. In the Seventh Circuit, representing Genesee County, Jill L. Nylander won a three-year term.

Thirty-seven attorneys won unopposed races in the State Bar Representative Assembly. These new members are:

Second Circuit—Berrien County
Scott A. Dienes

Third Circuit—Wayne County
Audrey R. Monaghan
Joseph P. McGill
Douglas A. Kaye
Thomas M. J. Lavigne
Katherine Kakish
Daniel D. McLean
Aaron V. Burrell

Fifth Circuit—Barry County
James H. Fisher

Sixth Circuit—Oakland County
Dennis M. Flessland
J. Scot Garrison
Carl L. Collins III
David M. Eisenberg
Samantha J. Orvis
Anne E. Linder
Patrick D. Crandell

Ninth Circuit—Kalamazoo County
Alan B. Koenig
Mark A. Holsomback

11th Circuit—Alger, Luce, Mackinac, and Schoolcraft Counties
Brian D. Rahilly

13th Circuit—Antrim, Grand Traverse, and Leelanau Counties
Wilson D. Brott
Lea Ann Sterling

16th Circuit—Macomb County
R. Timothy Kohler

17th Circuit—Kent County
Martin J. Hillard
Victoria A. Vuletich

20th Circuit—Ottawa County
Ronald L. Foster

21st Circuit—Isabella County
Robert M. Backus

22nd Circuit—Washtenaw County
Elizabeth C. Jolliffe

25th Circuit—Marquette County
Nels A. Christopherson

26th Circuit—Alpena and Montmorency Counties
Daniel J. Florip

27th Circuit—Newaygo and Oceana Counties
Ellsworth J. Stay Jr.

30th Circuit—Ingham County
Kimberly A. Breitmeyer
Darling A. Garcia

31st Circuit—St. Clair County
Gregory T. Stremers

36th Circuit—Van Buren County
Theresa J. Cypher

39th Circuit—Lenawee County
Jennifer A. Frost

48th Circuit—Allegan County
Matthew W. Antkoviak

54th Circuit—Tuscola County
Adam D. Pavlik

The 150-member Representative Assembly was created in 1972 to increase the proportion of members who actively participate in State Bar policy; it serves as the SBM final policy-making body.

SBM Judicial Tenure Commission

Nancy J. Diehl, of Detroit, won a contested election for a three-year term on the Judicial Tenure Commission that will commence Jan. 1, 2015, and will expire on Dec. 31, 2017. The JTC is a constitutionally created body that promotes the integrity of the judicial process and preserves public confidence in the courts.

SBM Young Lawyers Section Executive Council

Two attorneys—Ryan Zemke, of Utica, and Mwanaisha A. Sims, of Detroit—won uncontested elections in District 1, representing Wayne and Macomb Counties, for two-year terms expiring in 2016.

Three attorneys—Jerome Crawford, of Troy; Tanya N. Cripps, of Auburn Hills; and Choi Tanaha Portis, of Farmington Hills—won uncontested elections in District 2, representing Oakland County, for two-year terms expiring in 2016.

Four attorneys—Jade J. Edwards, of Burton; Shenique A. Moss, of Lansing; Aysha J. Kasham, of Ann Arbor; and Roberta L. Sacharski, of Lansing—won uncontested elections in District Three, representing all Michigan counties except for Wayne, Oakland, and Macomb, for two-year terms expiring in 2016.

The Young Lawyers Executive Council governs the members of the Young Lawyers Section, one of the State Bar's largest sections. The section provides education, information, and analysis about issues of concern through meetings, seminars, public service programs, and newsletters. The section has won numerous awards for its public service and educational programs.